List Price US $350
Adidas Tactical ADV 2017-2018 Snowboard Boot Review
Riding Level Intermediate - Expert
Lacing Type Traditional Lace
Manufactured in China
Flex

Medium

Turn Initiation

Medium/Fast

Sizing

1/2 Size Large

Boot Width

Wide

Comfort Great
Heel Hold Good
Adjustability Excellent
Reduced Footprint Excellent
Flex Retention Great
Shock Absorption Excellent
Traction Good
On & Off Ease Average
Warmth Average

Where To Buy

No obligation, but these links & ads support the site.
If you can't buy through the links below, you can support the site with $ € £ ¥.

Adidas Tactical ADV 2018 - 2017 Review by The Good Ride

The Adidas Tatical ADV snowboard boot that we instantly fell in love with. The major stand out is the next level shock absorption and although the fully articulating cuff is very well liked.  2017 was a turning point for Adidas Boots and 2018 brought them to the top. If you can get past the traditional lace and the fit is right then the 2018 Tactical ADV could be a great fit.  For me (James Biesty) the 2018 is one of the best fitting boots I’ve had in a while.

Just to let you know in the vids this was a size 9 boot reviewed last spring and after trying an 8.5 I realized that all the little problems I’m talking about in the video aren’t there with the size 8.5 production model and the fit/comfort was much better. 

Size Tried: James- 9 and 8.5, Peter 8.5, Jimbo 11.
Days 60+

Riders: James, Jimbo and Peter, 

James’ Foot Specs
Foot Size
: Right 9 and Left 8.75
Foot Width: Right and Left between a D/E
Arch Length: Right 9.5 and Left 9
Calves (Widest Point): 17”
Calves (At top of boot): 12”

Fit: The fit is just like a Burton that’s on the wider side of regular in the toe box so there is room to use the toes. The size 2017 size 9 felt about a 1/4 size large and with the change to the liner the 2018 feels like it’s up to a 1/2 size large so that’s why the 8.5 fits so well now.  It actually fits better than the 2017 Size 9.

Flex:  It’s pretty medium stiff and seems like it will stay that way for a good while.

Comfort: I had some issues with the 2017 in size 9 but none with the 2018 size 8.5. I haven’t felt that instant comfort in a long time and it’s not easy to do.  So if you can go with the 2018 because the fit is soo much better.

The 2017 is not 100% love at first try but it’s probably more around 80% love.  There is a little mellow pressure on the roof of my foot just below the ankle which is I thought might be a big issue but instead it faded throughout the day as I rode it and conformed much better to my feet.  Now it’s a very comfortable boot to ride and my only suggestion is to take it slowly on breaking it in like I described above in the video.

Heel Hold:  Very good heel hold and I don’t feel the heel lifting at all.  I have slightly thicker ankle joints so I don’t often have heel lift but this felt pretty good.  I would like to see an option on the inside of the shell or outside of the liner with Velcro for J-Bars but many will stick to the liner material so it’s not a super big deal.

Adjustability:  Traditional Lace Boots still have an advantage over all other lacing types except hybrid set ups that have something extra along with traditional lace. It takes more work but if you can tie a mountaineers knot you can really dial out your boots to fit your foot better than any other lacing system.

Flex Retention:  This is the best in the Adidas line when it comes to flex retention mainly because of the fully articulating cuff and the sturdier material on the outside.  The liner isn’t anything to write home about and it would be nice to see some reinforcement in the areas with the most flex but still overall it’s on the higher end of the flex retention spectrum.  This is a great choice for the 100 day a year rider.

Turn Initiation/Response: The tactical is pretty responsive if it’s tightened up but a nice smooth medium response if the upper rungs are left a little loose.  That’s one of the reasons I love the versatility of traditional lace boots with an articulating cuff.

Traction:  There are soft rubber spikes places throughout the boot so it will hold well in almost any kind of snow.

Shock Absorption:  This shock absorption is really next level and I can’t say that I’ve experienced anything like it. It’s not just cushy but really springy too so it doesn’t really feel like you are loosing response.

Footprint: Very reduced just like the rest of the line and it’s at the top of the industry.  It’s the kind of boot that can really help reduce toe drag. This is a comparison between size 9 boots.  As the sizes get larger we have noticed less of a difference when it comes to footprint size but Adidas is still a little bit smaller.  You can also see like it seems Adidas will be less likely to have heel or toe drag by the way the sole tapers up in the heel and toe. Here is a pic of the 2017 boot which is almost the same as the 2018. The only thing is an 8.5 seems more the equivalent to the 9 Burton so it’s a little smaller.

adidas-tactical-adv-vs-burton-almighty

On & Off Ease: Traditional Lace isn’t that bad and it’s much easier than people think.  Yes it’s slower than Speed Lace or BOA but not by much.  It’s almost as fast as BOA if you are one of those people who are constantly micro adjusting because when a BOA is undone it opens up pretty quick.

 
Adidas Tactical ADV Past Reviews

 
Adidas Tactical ADV Images

We try to get as many images of the Adidas Tactical ADV, but forgive us if they're not all there.

2018

2017

 
Adidas Company Information

Adidas Tactical ADV User Reviews

Submit your product review.


Submit your review
* Required Field

Adidas Tactical ADV 2017-2018 Snowboard Boot Review SKU UPC Model

Cush

Apr 20, 2018 by Ryan
Ability Level: Expert • 
Riding Style: Powder/Steeps/Trees • 
Days You Ride A Year: 20 • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 6'2,190,12 

These boots are extremely comfortable in my opinion. The Boost knocks down vibration and the laces offer great adjustability. I also tried on the Acerra thinking I might prefer the added response, but felt the foam to be too rigid and not as comfortable as the Tactical ADV's. Huge thanks to James and TGR on this recommendation!


Flawed

Apr 17, 2018 by Gregor
Ability Level: Expert • 
Riding Style: All mountain • 
Days You Ride A Year: 60 • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 6.1, 85, 9.5 

Great soles, decent liner. Tongue too stiff. This is to compensate for articulated cuff and medium flex shell. For riders with higher instep the tongue pressure on the top of your foot, especially on a toe turn becomes unbearable. Can’t use them. Last year’s boot didn’t have this problem.


First Impression-Not quite thought through

Feb 22, 2018 by Florian
Ability Level: Expert • 
Riding Style: All-Mountain Freestyle • 
Days You Ride A Year: ~40 • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): Usual Boot size 11 

I purchased this boot mainly because of this review. As I mentioned in my review of the Burton Imperial I needed a new boot with a low profile, so the Tactical seemed like a good fit and i ordered it, since i couldnt find it in any shop nearby.
The first Impression was, let\'s say different to what i was used to in Burton Boots. The liner felt quite hard and also thight around the ankle. So after the first few minutes i was already thinking about sending them back but i decided to put them on for a good hour around the house and they got more and more confortable. When i switched back to my (also new, they just have 2 days on them) Imperial the difference was quite shocking. I felt almost no foot support with the Burton the adidas liner uses a somewhat harder material, which at first seems more uncofortable than the very thick and plush Burton liner but i hugs your feet so well and you feel very supported so in the burtons now i just feel \"lost\" althought length-wise i definately need a 11 in the Burtons. In the 10.5 Tactical i have even more room length-and-with-wise than in the burtons!
Also the quality-difference is really shocking the Burtons feel really cheap compared to the adidas and less supportive, the Burtons feel like all the response comes just out of the tongue whereas the adidas is a all around sturdy snug fit whitch gives you the response. I also noticed the inward-lean of the burtons alot and would like to see that on the adidas too. I noticed the Burtons are also quite a bit lighter, almost 200g which is alot, that\'s mainly because of the better materials used and the oh-so-great sole of the adidas, soooo cushy and confortable. But the tongue-construction is a big plus for the burton and pretty much my only but big issue with the adidas. After wearing them for about 2 hours in the house the adidas already conformed a bit to my feet and were really comfy now with one exception, on one foot i got a pressure point on my inner ankle/instep where the liner tongue and outershell of the liner overlaps but this wouldnt be a big issue because i could just cut the tongue if the liner out a bit so it doesnt overlap anymore if it wouldn\'t have faded over the first few days. And the absolute biggest plus for me: This boot is f****** tiny! Its not even a fair comparison to my Burton 11\'s, which fit the same on the inside, length-wise. Its at least a full size shorter and alot less bulky it fits my Burton M bindings perfectly i even have space left. So if you have bigger feet definately have a look at this boot if it fits you this could be a game-changer. I\'d say with this boot you can ride a regular width board up to a size 11 with no problems unless you are into super-agressive carving.
So after wearing the boots in the house for about 2 hours and flex them quite alot, the first impression was very positive.
But after reading so many reviews, which state, that there is pressure on the top of the foot when leaning into a toeside turn i wanted to test it as much as i can, so i got my board out and strapped in on my carpet.
I didnt notice a pressure on my feet when flexing just standing but that changed once the straps are engaged. It causes the boot to \"collapse\" a bit in the middle section and it creases. So when leaning forward i could feel the pressure on the top of my foot. It\'s not that bad if i simulate a normal turn but gets quite a bit painful when i lean forward and have my weight more on one foot like simulating a nose-butter and get pressure on the toe-side edge for example so even pressure on both foots are ok, i still feel it thought, but as soon as i got my weight not centered it gets more painful. It also got quite some creases now after just some flexing standing up and in the bindings, (So bad that im already worried that the shop won\'t take it back without complaining)
I really wanted to keep this boot just because of the tiny footprint and great sole but im just not willing to risk it for 350 bucks so sadly i will have to return it.
Thegoodride-crew states that this issue is gone so it quite surprises me because i have a pretty flat foot so i doubt that my feet are the cause i think this is just a construction-fault. Im just surprised that you guys love it so much. At first i thought the size could be the issue cause in size 8.5 i can see that the pressure wouldnt be that eminent but jimbo is riding a size 11 so idk...
Maybe there are just some faulty ones out there?
Also i have to disagree with james on the fit, it fits quite different than my burtons, its really slim around the ankle but with enough room in the toebox, the burtons have way more room in the ankle/instep section thats why the adidas fit me so well i have a thinner ankle and the adidas hugs it so good i get no heel-lift in these whereas in the burton i always got alot of heel-lift.
So to summarize i will send it back but i think its a great boot if only they fix the middle part of so it doesnt collapse under the ankle-strap, maybe a stiffer tounge would fix this...?
Also i would like to see them making a liner which like burtons doesnt overlap in the instep, section.
So could be a great boot and i still recommeand to try it out, maybe you dont get this issue, maybe it even wouldn\'t be that big of a deal on the mountain but i dont have the guts to risk it since it would be very hard to sell it again once used. And i also dont see this issue get better with the boot breaking in i bet this would only get worse as the boot gets softer.
So yeah just make sure it\'s not an issue for you before you buy it.
I will definately have a look at this boot again next year to see if they fixed this issue because it would be a great boot otherwise.


Horrible boot

Feb 13, 2018 by shane
Ability Level: Advanced • 
Riding Style: Aggressive • 
Days You Ride A Year: 20+ • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 5’9” 150# size 9 

I live on this website for reviews and have scored many great products based on the goodride tests. I hate these boots. Previously I had Salomon F4.0 and they discontinued them so I needed a new boot. These were rated as high as F4.0 but can’t hold a candle to them. They give such bad top pressure on my foot and the boot themselves are creasing so bad that the black stripes are even peeling off. I’ve only used them ten times this season but they are getting worse as the break in.


Creasing gets worse causing pain

Feb 06, 2018 by Kevin
Ability Level: Intermediate • 
Riding Style: All Mtn • 
Days You Ride A Year: 20 • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 5'10, 200lbs, size 11 

I really wanted to like these boots because of the BOOST. But these boots will crease and cause top pressure. For me the creasing was pretty bad and pinched me by day 3. If you watch the reviews for the adidas response and the ADV they both mention the creasing and top pressure, but that it did not cause them issues. Well for me the creasing did cause issues, possibly because I am a +200lbs rider and size 11.5 boot and I could see how boots of larger size have more issues like this. However, other boots I have owned in the past have not creased and pinched on me like these ever. I can't recommend.


2017 adv tactical

Jan 08, 2018 by Stefan
Ability Level: Expert • 
Riding Style: Aggressive • 
Days You Ride A Year: 50 plus • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 6’2 205 10.5 

Excellent boots, only wish they were a bit stiffer for riding pipe. For people with top of foot pain, there is a neat little strap that goes through the eyelets. Be careful when tightening that area, it greatly increases the force of heel hold. I have found it easy to overtighten, causing some discomfort. Wrapping the laces around each other three times, just above the ankle, worked for me.


Another foot top issue

Nov 22, 2017 by Alexey
Ability Level: +\-Intermediate • 
Riding Style: All mntn freeride • 
Days You Ride A Year: 15-20 • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): US 8+1/3 

Agreed on all points. Responsive and good flex retention.
Didn't have a lot of experience with other boots so comparing to my last DC's with boa they are just nearly perfect in flex and adjustability.

Nevertheless I experienced slight deformation when tighten up ankle strap and still having an issue with "foot roof" pain on one leg as mentioned in GoodRide's and other users reviews.

After measuring both feet i've figured out i have different feet length and heights (like several mm), so that might be the cause of an issue.
I've expected that to be solved with moldable liner (i didn't take a risk to cook it in oven), but after about 15 days riding the issue was still there so i couldn't really tighten up one of my legs.

Conclusion: There's definitely an occasional issue with a foot top comfort, so pay attention to it when buying.
And measure both feet before buying on-line. Don't be like me. :)


Great value for money

Nov 05, 2017 by Adam Alpine
Ability Level: Expert • 
Riding Style: Fast and agressive • 
Days You Ride A Year: 15-20 • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 5'-10", 180 lbs, US 11.5 

These are great value for money. Build quality and materials are top notch at this price point. There is barely a scuff or crease on these after 20 plus days riding.

Pros:
-Very supportive and true to the mid stiff flex profile. Ankle support is great.
- Shock absorption is outstanding. At the end of the day my feet feel great.
-Traction on ice is awesome.
-Build quality is great as mentioned before. Single piece toe cap and vamp as well as the articulating cuff are complex parts that make for good build quality. Also supper impressed Adidas can offer these features at this price point.
-Traditional laces. It may be old school but they are reliable and affordable. Also the lugs are nice and big.

Cons / Minor complaints
- There is a little deformation when you crank the ankle straps tight.
- The outsole seems like its not going to last. I think this is where Adidas has shaved some wight off the boot. I would have taken the weight penalty for a bit more durability here.
- Toe box is a little big. This one is a blessing and a curse for me. My foot is on the wide side so the extra width is appreciated. However, the toe box is also pretty tall. When turning heal side I can feel my toes lifting up. I added some boot foam to the top of the liner to help fill up the toe box. This has worked well for me and if you find the toe box a bit tall then you might want to try some foam.
- Availability. It was really hard to find a pair of these. The popular sizes went really quick. I ended up getting the form a site called surfdome out of the UK. The site is pretty good by the way. Return policy is reasonable and I still got free shipping to the US.


Adidas is doing big things

Mar 16, 2017 by Steve Maxwell
Ability Level: Intermediate + • 
Riding Style: All Mnt / Freestlye • 
Days You Ride A Year: 20ish • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 5'10", 162 lbs, Size 10 

I also agree, love these. Great review James, totally agree with everything. Except my calfs are small and I had no issue with the velcro. These inner boots are very nice. Nice materials, great heel hold. I didn't replace my the insoles and they still felt amazing. The footprint is unique on the insoles. Might not fit the shape of your already cut custom insoles. mine didn't. Adidas did an amazing job on these. These fit true to size for me. So glad I snagged these.

* no break in - so comfortable from the very first ride.
* comfort galore - the boost tech on these is amazing.
* tiny footprint - might be smaller than Burton.
* grippers - these soles are great, amazing grip.
* quality - construction and materials is quality
* flex and support - the flex is great and everywhere else is solid. Felt really solid in the binding. Never felt so good on my board. The stance feels low to the ground its great. The outsole is so well constructed. It is like steel toe boot protection and yet these are really nice and light.


Great boots, a little hard on the foot top

Feb 08, 2017 by Simon K
Ability Level: Intermediate+ • 
Riding Style: All Mnt / Freestlye • 
Days You Ride A Year: 6-10 • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 175cm, 82kg, 9.5UK 

Firstly, the Good Rides Review is spot on, i didn't disagree with anything they said so I'll for the most part be repeating.
I bought these boots after a helpful chat with James and finding most of the boots we discussed where already sold out/not available in Europe. That said, i think i made a good choice.

I combined these boots with Burton Genesis Bindings and a 158R Yes. Standard.

These boots were unbelievably comfortable the first time i wore them, the impact cushion and foot hold was perfect! Doing jumps and taking hard landings were so much easier in these boots. Lacing was easy and really well designed, and taking off and putting on wasn't overly hard.

I did find that after the first day, the softness faded fast and they became much firmer. This was a minus for comfort but a big plus for control.
Much like James mentioned i had challenges with the Velcro on the inner boot, it didn't provide enough to move the tongue around. That being said the Velcro always held and i never found it to give out.
The grip on the these boots was great, far better than my previous boots.

My biggest (and for the most part only) issue with these boots was the inner boot tongue. After the first day i found the tongue digging into the top of my foot, it actually became painful. It did get easier as the week went on but for days 2-4 it was an issue. This may have been from larger than normal metatarsals poking out from the top of my feet, or it may have been the boot. In any case i found myself wrapping an extra sock around the top of my foot to limit the irritation. By the end of the week the boot was fine and the irritation was minimised (probably only still present because of the bruise), it was most likely just a case of the boots needing breaking in.

By the end of the week I was very happy with these boots. Despite the pains with the top of the foot, i experienced no other discomfort and no cramp or pins and needles etc. By the end of the week i couldnt have been happier with these boots!

In Summary, last week was the best boarding week I've ever had, i would personally like to thank The Good Ride guys for helping make it so :)


3.8 5.0 13 13 These boots are extremely comfortable in my opinion. The Boost knocks down vibration and the laces offer great adjustability. I also tried on the Acerra thinking I might prefer the Adidas Tactical ADV 2017-2018 Snowboard Boot Review
Page:
12