List Price US $269
Burton Step On Binding 2018-2021 Review
Riding Level Beginner - Expert
Quick Release Yes
Manufactured in China
Canted Footbed No
Burton Channel Compatible Yes
Mini disc No
Approx. Weight Feels Light

Follow us on Facebook & Instagram

Flex

Medium/Stiff

Boot Support

Locked In

Turn Initiation

Fast

Buttering

Medium

Binding Adjustability Poor
Stance Adjustability Poor
Comfort Good
Ratchet System
Shock Absorption Great

Burton Step On Binding 2021 - 2018 Review by The Good Ride

Burton Step On Snowboard Video Review Fast Forward Markers. 0:00 – Intro 0:27 – How They Were Tested 1:17 – Summary 2:02 – Weight 2:08 – Highback Flex 2:40 – Flex Underfoot/Buttering 3:49 – Turn Initiation/Response 5:02 – Shock Absorption 5:31- Boot Support 7:33 – Boot To Binding Adjustability 9:16 – Stance Width Adjustability 10:17 – Conclusion 11:17 – About Our Reviews

The Burton Step On Binding needs a Burton compatible boot and has less boot to binding adjustability but its super easy on/off and is really responsive. It is far from being perfect but its the first time we found a quick release binding to improve response.

Ethics Statement: We don’t get paid by the manufacturer to write these reviews.  No one is perfect and we do make money from the “Where To Buy” links below, but this is our best attempt at an honest and objective review from an average riders’ perspective.

Burton Step On 2021 Binding Snowboard Binding Review

Burton Step On Binding

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Days: 4
RidersJames (Size 9, 5’10” 185-195lbs), Peter (Size 8, 5’11” 185lbs), Grant (Size 11 6’ 160lbs)
Boots: Burton Ruler Step On and Burton Ion Step On, Burton Photon Step On
Boards: Yes Ghost, Burton Hometown Hero, Union Orbit, Burton Stun Gun, Burton Trick Pilot, and Burton Speed Date.

How This Review Happened:  We used our precious Good Ride earnings to buy this due to overwhelming review requests. We borrowed this for a full day at the demos twice and then rode it for a full day thanks to Gravity Sports at Mt. Bachelor.

Approximate Weight

Pretty light at 1.8 lbs per binding with screws on. The Step On boots you have to pair up with are a little heavier than the regular versions so overall its a pretty middle ground overall weight.

Highback Flex

There is not much twist in the Burton Step On Bindings high back but its got a little more give than the Step On X. However, being literally locked into the center of it makes you feel the twist less than you normally would.

Binding to Boot Adjustability

One of the weaknesses of the Burton Step On Binding. There just isn’t much going on to center your boot in the binding. If you are closer to the in between sizes moving the disc screws towards the heel or toe edge a few millimetres each way isn’t ideal. Unlike the old Re:Flex discs the new ones only have 2 positions instead of 3 so its even worse than before.

Stance Width Adjustability

If you set the Burton Step On Bindings up with a Burton Channel System board the stance width adjustability is infinite. If you put these on normal inserts you have none. Re:Flex discs won’t turn sideways and slide tip to tail like most  regular and mini-discs can.

Boot Support

So being locked into the highback makes for a pretty locked in feel that has a lot of support. We suggest paring up the Burton Step On Binding with the Photon Step On or Ion Step On Boots though because we do like the added ankle support. With the Ruler Step On, that has none, we felt it start to fold a little bit more than we would like. It also felt like the front part of the Ruler would flex too much forward and the back wouldn’t move which is pretty weird compared to traditional boots/bindings.

Ratchet System

Here is where we talk about the easy on and off and why this binding has soo much appeal. No ratchets. You just step in, they click in place and then go. When you get to the bottom of the run you flip a lever and step out. It is faster than any step on we have tried. It’s easier than being on ski’s. On top of that you don’t have the pain of ultra hard, sized down ski boots. It can get weird with snow loading up on the foot bed but you just need to manage it. Stepping forward also feels weird as most don’t step forward when they unstrap. They usually go out somewhat sideways and then step back. It is weird to get used to this.

Turn Initiation/Response

Usually with quick release bindings you are trading response for this feature. With the Burton Step On Bindings you are getting more. Having the boot locked in to the highback seems to really up the response. There is still that smooth initiation you feel with all Burton Re:Flex bindings but it just accelerates as you lean into a turn. We haven’t done A vs. B testing with other super responsive bindings but it feels incredibly fast. Even with the least expensive Burton Rulers on. It is a great binding for those that like quick turn initiation and carving.

Flex Under Foot/Buttering

What makes the Burton Step On Binding so responsive also makes it not as easy to butter. The flex under foot is there with the Re:Flex tech that flexes down the middle of the binding. It is just not as easy to access when your boot is stuck to the high back. It for sure takes some getting used to. Normally under the sway bar of the binding there is soft EVA foam but with the Step On you have plastic. It is probably trying to help compensate for no toe strap or ankle strap and give more response there. It does make it less buttery though.

Shock Absorption/Dampness

There is a really cush ride wtih the Burton Step On Binding. Other than the plastic plate on the bottom of the gas pedal (instead of EVA foam) it is just like all the other Re:Flex bindings out there. That makes for a pretty smooth shock free ride.

Summary

All of us here at The Good Ride unanimously like the overall feel of traditional bindings from Burton and other companies better but it is the first time we found added response with quick release tech. It makes it more than just an easy way to get in and out of a binding and I think many will find it’s strengths outweigh it’s weaknesses.

 
Burton Step On Binding Past Reviews

 
Burton Step On Binding Images

We try to get as many images of the Burton Step On Binding, but forgive us if they're not all there.

2019

 
Burton Company Information

Burton Step On Binding User Reviews

Submit your product review.


Submit your review
* Required Field

Burton Step On Binding 2018-2021 Review SKU UPC Model

Love These Bindings!

Mar 10, 2021 by andrew
Ability Level: Advanced • 
Riding Style: Free ride • 
Days You Ride A Year: 15-20 • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 5’9” 160lbs. 10.5 boots 

These are truly epic. I have them on a Jones Ultracraft 156 and the added response that the bindings give you work great with a board that’s a little wider like the hover/ultracraft. What is truly the best part is the ease to click in and out with the feeling like your in your normal boots. I have a bad back and I noticed a huge difference from not having to stop and strap in over and over. The ease of just clicking in really makes a difference and in my case probably ends up in a few extra laps for me throughout the day. They also work great in powder and are easy to get on and off which is contrary to what you’ll read online. I was a skeptic with everything I read online and now I that I own them they’re legit. Give them a try you’ll be surprised with how awesome these are.


There is more adjustability

Feb 04, 2021 by Jack
Ability Level: Upper intermediate • 
Riding Style: All mountain no park • 
Days You Ride A Year: 25+ • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 5'5", 210lbs, size 8 boots 

I love my Step Ons from 2020 with Photon boots. So responsive it definitely helped improve my riding ability and confidence staying on toe side edge.

The 2021 bindings in all of Burtons line have consolidated the disk to a single disk. In the review video it was mentioned this had less adjustability but this isn't quit the case. If you turn the disk 180° the extra holes are now on the other side and allows to help center bindings on board. Also some might not realize there is high back forward lean adjustment as well done with a screw driver from the inside of the highback. Two screws designed for forward lean adjustments.

Only part I struggle is I lack flexibility so reaching the release lever is difficult for me. But some creativity can help solve this until Burton outs in a real solution. Knocking one store for that otherwise 5 stars.


Jan 22, 2021 by Stephen Alexander
Ability Level: Senior • 
Riding Style: Carve • 
Days You Ride A Year: As many as possible • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 10.5/162 

I bought a pair of BURTON Hard boots in 2001 a buddy of Jakes at Sunny Breeze Sports set me up with the original set of step in race bindings. These sound and review the same except the original came with a cant plate a little ackward when walking but well worth it.Hard on the ankles without.


Straps? You don't need no stinking straps!

Oct 02, 2020 by Jay Jochec
Ability Level: Advanced/expert • 
Riding Style: All Mountain, Steep, Trees, Half pipe • 
Days You Ride A Year: 30+ • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 6'0" 195lbs, size 11, 161 wide Rossi One Mag LF 

Bought these last year after ripping the soles off my 2nd set of K2 clickers in a season and a half just out of warranty. I'll never go back! My riding confidence has gone way up which translates into my ability increasing as well with these. I can feel the board now. The edge to edge response is super quick.

The boots are comfortable once you get the tension right, I usually loosen them a bit after the 1st run (Photons). They do pack out about 1/2 a size over the season so if your toes are just barely touching new you should be good to go after 4-5 days of riding. I've ridden these in all conditions and have had zero issues with them. No hot spots, no trouble getting in and out of them in the powder. If you have too much fwd lean in them getting that 2nd click is hard to do. But really with the way the system is hooked up I haven't noticed any difference in having as much fwd lean as I could get in and still get the 2nd click and having zero fwd lean.

I really liked my K2 clickers for 1 big reason. And that is I could click in while riding the chair and just board right off. My wife who purchased the step ons a season before I did couldn't do this and so I was hesitant about not being able to do this. I have a knee injury that when my foot slips off the board getting off the chair and I do the splits basically will pull at it and make it hurt from just a little to really freaking bad. Well 1st run up the chair I figured it out. you get the inside toe cleat started, then rock your foot to the 2nd toe cleat, once you have those engaged you roll the board fwd and get one click in the back and you're good to go. Ride off the chair, Ollie it up and bam 2nd click and you're gone!

I've never had any fear about coming out of them. I don't use the leash. You'd have to bust the rear plastic out of the rear of the boot and I just don't see that happening. I rode them in the Super Pipe at Bachelor and didn't think twice about it.

I'm purchasing a Rossi XV 168w this year because of the reviews here and am going to run the new Step On X bindings on it which should suit the board and my riding style well.

These things are just too convenient and with the response as great as it is not to run. Burton has knocked it out of the park with these. Get some, you won't be dissapointed.


Never Going Back to Straps

Feb 29, 2020 by David R Glenn
Ability Level: Advanced • 
Riding Style: All mountain • 
Days You Ride A Year: 15 • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 6'3", 230, 11, Yes Greats Uninc 

I will never go back to bending over and strapping. First day on them I was charging the steeps with very little learning curve. Back edge very positive and tow edge 2-3 runs and I was back in my groove. I ride at Snowbird so I have had pow days with 16+ inches and was able to get in and out without much trouble. Practice pulling out of the toe at home on a dry surface to get the feel of exiting. Overall I love them and have a lot of jealous looks when Im off and running without wait time.


Poor Manufacture Quality

Feb 27, 2020 by Mike
Ability Level: Advanced • 
Riding Style: Freeride • 
Days You Ride A Year: 15-20 

The step in process works well on these bindings, while stepping out is more challenging. Not as easy as you may think. The main problem, however, has to do with the poor manufacture quality of these bindings. I've ridden Genesis for the past six seasons. Those bindings are solid, while the StepOns are not well made -- particularly the foam under your boot, which lifts each time you step out and allows snow underneath it. This makes it impossible to step back in without spending a few minutes cleaning off the snow and trying to push the foam down. Boarders around me with strap bindings laugh at these and can be off and riding much quicker than these Burton StepOns would ever allow. Not ready for prime time, that's for sure.


Never miss again, no Bending at all

Jan 25, 2020 by Attila
Ability Level: Advanced • 
Riding Style: Sloped, small jumps, Carving • 
Days You Ride A Year: 14-21 

Ich war sehr misstrauisch, weil ich zuerst in meinen Burton Step on Ion 2020 kleien Hotsports hatte. Nachdem ich den SNowboardschuh mit Shcuhspannen und Föhn ausgedehnt habe und jetzt uweimal im Winterurlaub war kann ich nur sagen:

Nie mehr was andere! Ich fahre zu 90 % Piste( was fast jeder macht, von wegen Backcountry :)) und bin viel mit Skifahrern unterwegs. Jeden SKitag freue ich mich 20 mal das ich so einklicken kann. Mittlerweile klappt es bereits in der AUslaufzone von Lift. LEdiglich wenn es sehr steil will das Board immer weg. In 98/100 fällen klappt es allerdingt auf Anhieb und dieses Comfort kann man nicht aufwiegen.

Zum Carven kriege ich prima Druck auf die Kante, vorher hatte ich die klassischen Burton Cartell. Finde das die Step Ons vom Fahren mindestens gleich gut, wenn nicht sogar mehr Druck auf die Frondside Kante bekommen.

Hatte mit meinen alten Snowboardschuhen immer die Schienbeine offen. Der Ion ist war viel härter und nicht ganz so chillig, aber bekomme den Schuh so fest, dass sichts bewegt und nicht aufschabt!! ENdlich !

Edit: Nach zwei Winterurlauben sind die Druckstellen komplett verschwundne und sie sind viel bequemer geworden (bischen augedehnt am Spann und am kleinen Zee) . Bin 100 % zufrieden.

Snowboarden bis ins Hohe Alter ;):) Die Blicke beim ANschnallen sind euch sicher , auch wenn es etwas Übung am ANfang BEdarf. Später geht es immer schneller.


Convenience + response

Jan 08, 2020 by Steve
Ability Level: Advanced • 
Riding Style: All mountain • 
Days You Ride A Year: 30 • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 5'5" 140 8.5 

I'm tempted to give it 5 stars, but with convenience comes compromise. The boot locks into the back of the binding, and while that's relatively low down, it restricts forward/aft motions on the board which can make some motions more difficult.

Having said that:

Super convenient to get into the bindings. Sometimes I can one-foot off the chair, flip up the highback, and step in with back foot without stopping. Other times, it's simply quick and easy to do that after stopping. Getting out requires a little more motion and practice; I've spazzed out a few times doing it. Also, sometimes I accidentally step back in before I wiggle out of the toe connections. Overall, it's still hugely convenient, especially when dealing with flats, and reduces stooping over to get in and out. When releasing, one must reach down for a lever, but it doesn't' require stooping as low as with conventional bindings and it's one quick motion and done. That also applies to riding right into the scries and releasing the back foot when conditions permit.

Overall stability of the ride is significantly improved for some reason.

Heel side response and edging: significantly improved.
Toe side: was degraded at first and I wasn't liking it. That improved over time and I almost don't notice a difference at this point.

I'm mostly a freerider, not sure how ideal this would be for park rats and all-mountain free-stylers. Having said that, if the convenience and response are important enough, and the rider chooses boots that fit properly, it probably won't matter, especially as the boots wear in a bit.

I'm using Ion Step On boots. They're amazing! But, keep in mind that the fit and feel are significantly different than standard Ions, which I tried and returned before moving over to the Step On system).


Burton Step On

Oct 01, 2019 by David Kinnane
Ability Level: Intermediate - Advanced • 
Riding Style: Aggressive • 
Days You Ride A Year: 20+ • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 175cm 80kg, size 9, medium 

I will never go back to traditional bindings. You feel locked into your board and your board responds accordingly. Shock absorption is good too. No more toe straps falling off mid run or loose bindings. Very easy to use and it is a great feeling skating by all the other snowboarders sitting down and strapping in at the top of the chair. No more wasted effort and wasted time at the top of the chair. Step on and board away. Stepping out is easy too. Just keep your weight on your heel, release the latch and twist your heel towards your other heel. I highly recommend that you upgrade to Burton Step On bindings.


GAME CHANGER

Mar 18, 2019 by Seth
Ability Level: Expert • 
Riding Style: Aggressive • 
Days You Ride A Year: 30 • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 5'10, 190, 10.5 

Best.Bindings.EVER.

Easy in. Easy out. I usually pop my foot into the rear binding as I'm getting off the chair.
Extremely responsive.

The only day I've ever had a problem was a deep, deep snow day on Mammoth. On one run, I couldn't get my rear foot to click in so I had to "Better off Dead" it down the mountain.
- This is after 50 days on mountain though and I think my ski pant wasn't tucked into the buckle on the boot.

I will never wear any other pair of bindings again. I regularly snowboard with 5-8 other people and we are ALL wearing Step Ons and loving it. From the beginners to the experts.


4.5 5.0 13 13 These are truly epic. I have them on a Jones Ultracraft 156 and the added response that the bindings give you work great with a board that’s a little wider like the hover/ultracr Burton Step On Binding 2018-2021 Review
Page:
12

If you can't buy through the links above, you can support the site with: