List Price US $329
K2 Maysis 2010-2019 Snowboard Boot Review
Riding Level Intermediate - Expert
Lacing Type Double BOA
Manufactured in China
Flex

Medium/Stiff

Turn Initiation

Medium/Fast

Sizing

1/2 Size Large

Boot Width

Medium

Comfort Excellent
Heel Hold Excellent
Adjustability Poor
Reduced Footprint Good

Follow us on Facebook & Instagram

Flex Retention Great
Shock Absorption Great
Traction Great
On & Off Ease Great
Warmth Excellent

K2 Maysis 2019 - 2010 Review by The Good Ride

The K2 Maysis doesn’t have much when it comes to adjustability but it really shines when it comes to locking that ankle in.  It’s also very comfortable, very well made and super easy to get on/off.

Ethics Statement: We don’t get paid by the manufacturer to write these reviews.  No one is perfect and we do make money from the “Where To Buy” links below, but this is our best attempt at an honest and objective review from an average riders’ perspective.

Days: 3
Size Tried: 9 (2019 Model) and 8.5 (2018 model)
Riders: James, Jimbo, Mary
Insoles: Footprint Insole Technology Gamechangers
Bindings: Union Atlas, Union Superpro, Union Strata,
Boards: OZ Custom Woody, Lib Tech Box Knife, K2 Manifest

James’ Foot Specs
Foot Size
: 9 US
Foot Width: D bordering on E
Arch Length: Right 9.5 and Left 9
Calves (Top of the boot): 17”
Calves (Bottom of the boot): 12”

Sizing: The K2 Maysis runs about 1/2 size large on the US Brannock Scale so the 8.5 boots fit me perfect and the 9’s felt too big.

Fit: These have an interesting fit.  They are nice and snug around the back of the foot/heel but then widen out a bit as you move towards the middle of the foot which makes these boots fit most mid-width feet as well as those who have narrow feet.

Comfort:  These are super comfortable and I really felt they were an almost perfect fit day one. These were not demoed boots but came brand new to me so the comfort factor is high.

Flex: Nice middle ground flex that works with a wide variety of boards/bindings.

Flex Retention:  K2 has what they call endo construction where there is this rubber type of support in the shell that seems to do a good job with flex retention. I haven’t personally ridden a pair for the season but the demo 8.5’s I tried had lot’s of days on them and still had a very similar flex to the brand new boots I tried.  They weren’t the same but were really good for the use they had.  The K2 Maysis also seems well built so with good care they should hold up well.

Footprint: As you can see in the pic below the 8.5 Maysis is longer than my 8.5  Adidas Tactical ADV’s from heel to toe but they aren’t as long as they used to be. Also, these Tactical ADV’s, in this size are about as small as boots get footprint wise. I had to adjust my toe straps to make these fit my bindings but I have seen a lot bigger. You also often trade warmth for reduced footprint so if warmth is important to you and you have the right width board for your boot side then these might be a good call.

18 Maysis vs. 18 Tactical ADVK2 Maysis vs. Adidas Tactical ADV Footprint

Turn Initiation:  It has nice smooth middle ground turn initiation that can power most boards. Even brand new it works well and it doesn’t overpower your turns or make the ride twitchy.

Shock Absorption: Nothing amazing but nothing bad either.

Heel Hold: This is why so many people love this boot because it’s all about wrapping that ankle up and keeping it in one place.

Adjustability: There is almost no adjustability with the Maysis.  The double BOA has one for the inside around the ankle and the other for the entire shell.  That makes this BOA boot pretty poor if you like upper and lower separation but excellent if you prefer heel hold over all else.

Traction: Great traction and the K2 Maysis rubber holds well.

On & Off Ease: Sooo easy to get on and off.  It’s just two pulls on the Boa’s and you are out of it.  Getting it on takes a bit of twisting but it’s pretty quick and easy without strings everywhere.  The convenience is really nice.

So if you can live with the lack of adjustability the K2 Maysis offers up a super comfortable super locked in a boot that’s super easy to get on and off.

 
K2 Maysis Past Reviews

The K2 Maysis Boot is a great all mountain do anything boot that is very supportive and comfortable. The Maysis is well priced, well made and good for someone who likes a good ballance between comfort and response.

Flex: The flex is medium stiff and feels pretty all mountainish.

Comfort: The liner is very cush and because of that it’s known to pack out a bit so you might want to size down 1/2 size.

Heel Hold:  You are locked in with the Maysis because the Double BOA is for the inside and outside of the boot instead of upper and lower.

Adjustability: The bad part about K2 Maysis Double BOA system is it doesn’t adjust the upper and lower boots.  There is one BOA is for the inside liner and the other is for the outside. We’d rather see upper and lower BOA’s but many people love this design and prefer an ultra locked in heel than separate upper/lower adjustablity.

Flex Retention:  It has some minor articulation in the ankle to preserve the flex but it still doesn’t compete with an articulating cuff.  It also doesn’t have “Endo” tech but it still holds it’s flex rather well for this price point and it can get through 100 days no problem.

Response: The response with the Maysis is very good and it can handle just about any board out there when it comes to turn initiation.

Traction: It’s not their higher end vibram sole but it does a good job from peak to icy parking lot.

Shock Absorption: Nice shock absorption that is in between ultra cushy and skate shoe in terms of feel. With a good binding you will be shielded from a lot of shock.

The K2 Maysis has a big following, the construction is very solid and will last a long time.  If you want the easiest boots to get in and don’t care much about upper and lower adjustability or a reduced footprint then give the Maysis a try.

 
K2 Maysis Images

We try to get as many images of the K2 Maysis, but forgive us if they're not all there.

2018

2017

2016

2015

2014

2013

2012

2011

2010

 
K2 Company Information

K2 Maysis User Reviews

Submit your product review.


Submit your review
* Required Field

K2 Maysis 2010-2019 Snowboard Boot Review SKU UPC Model

Heal falls off and they leak

Mar 13, 2020 by Michael
Ability Level: Advanced • 
Riding Style: All Mountain • 
Days You Ride A Year: 50 • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 6' Size 11 

Boots are comfortable enough however after 9 days heal started lifting off the back on right boot. I glued and after another 10 more ride days the other boot heal started lifting and leaking. I sent in for warranty and they re-glued :( $450 dollar boots.....I could have done that....these boots are faulty, will never buy this brand again. Think Ride own them or distribute them in Australia. Don't waste your $$


Disappointment

Feb 21, 2020 by Steve
Ability Level: Expert • 
Riding Style: Park/backcountry • 
Days You Ride A Year: 60 • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 6 feet, 200 lbs size 11 

I had High Hopes when I bought these boots since they were performance boots and made for an expert level.

However, after riding them for approximately 15 days there was pinch points in the boots, a severe heel lift in it, as well as the spacing between the toes was massive so they created a lot of cold spots. These boots fit HUGE and I had to downsize to a 10 from a boot size normally of 11.

After riding him for about eight days I tried to convince myself that I love these boots at the price point. However I was very disappointed. I would not recommend These Boots, if you are high performance snowboarder.

I switch to Burton boots which were significantly better.

I would spend my money elsewhere at this price point and I have owned a number of snowboard boots in the past and this one definitely had the worst heel lifts I've ever had despite it apparently fitting properly from where I bought them.


Uncomfortable and they leak moisture

Jan 02, 2020 by Bob Thompson
Ability Level: Intermediate • 
Riding Style: All Mountain • 
Days You Ride A Year: 15 • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 5'11" Size 9 

After about 12 rides, I am not happy with the fit. Only way to avoid cramping my foot is to leave the bindings too loose. I have tried all the combinations of internal and external boa adjustments. Lately I have noticed my boots smell and I have discovered that the boots leak somehow into the bottom of the footbed. So even when they seem dry on the inside, there is moisture under the insert which is getting moldy. I have a slightly wide foot so that might be part of the fit problem for these boots. Overall I don't recommend them.


Great boots

Apr 30, 2019 by Kim Ghesquiere
Ability Level: Advanced • 
Riding Style: Freeride/Freestyle • 
Days You Ride A Year: 30 

Best boots for me since my Vans Andreas Wiig 2009. After those i tried newer Vans and Nike Air Force One boots and they were total rubbish compared to these. The Maysis are fairly comfortable but mostly have great heel hold while i can leave the outer boa a bit looser to allow some leg movement. Relatively large footprint but don't see that as a problem. You'll never get cold feet in these boots! I've ridden these on Slash ATV, Straight and Jones UMT boards with burton mission and union fc bindings.


Ugg boots are better

Mar 12, 2019 by Jimmy
Ability Level: Expert • 
Riding Style: ALL MTN • 
Days You Ride A Year: 100+ 

The WORST....Flimsy dont waste your money and time


VERY BAD

Aug 23, 2018 by teodor natan
Ability Level: Expert • 
Riding Style: All mountain • 
Days You Ride A Year: 45+ • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 156, 70kg,rome Katanas 

I read about this boot as being a very good one. I bought this years model 2018, and after riding the very first day, my ankles took alot of beating and smashing. The pain is terrible from that new BOA CONDA system they use, Its CLEARLY HAS NOT BEEN TESTED ENOUGHT!
After 2-3 days of riding now and then the boots, changing with Nitro TLS, I noticed that the boot literaly started cracking and breaking down, in the front part from the Katana bindings ...what a joke...what a waste of time and money!
SHAME K2 !


READ BEFORE buying

Mar 30, 2018 by Jonny Utah
Ability Level: Expert • 
Riding Style: All Mountain • 
Days You Ride A Year: 20+ • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 6'2", 210, I ride Burton Cartels 

This is my second pair of Maysis, the first I was very happy with. Just like a previous reviewer, 2 quarter size holes were eaten through my boot on the back side where it comes in contact with my Burton Cartel bindings. This did not happen to my previous pair of Maysis before this or any other boots I have ridden in these bindings. It happened only after 5 times out. This is NOT normal wear and tear, it is a product defect. I have been boarding almost 30 years and never seen anything like this. Even my Sorrells when I first started boarding held up better than this. The sucky thing is that K2 won't own up to it and you will be stuck with the price tag. They lost my business...you have been warned, hope that helps.


Painful

Jan 29, 2018 by Zach
Ability Level: Intermediate-advanced • 
Riding Style: Cruiser/backcountry • 
Days You Ride A Year: Depends on the weather10-30 • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 5'9" 250lbs 10-1/2 

Broke these in in Ohio(very short runs) with no issues initially. Took them out to New York for some longer runs and noticed my socks would bunch up under my foot every 3-4 runs. Had to remove and readjust multiple times throughout the day. Just got back from a 3 day run at Jay Peak in Vermont(much longer runs) and I was having extreme pain on the front of my ankle on the left and right of my feet. I'm interested in the other comments about relacing the boa system, but I can't find any instructions online on how to do this.Was planning on abandoning these boots, but I suppose the relacing would be worth a try. Any help on how to do this would be much appreciated.


Good for about 2 days

Apr 18, 2016 by Phil
Ability Level: Intermediate-Advanced • 
Riding Style: Aggressive Freestyle All-Mountain • 
Days You Ride A Year: 20 • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 5'7" 165-170lbs, 9.5 boot, Now IPO, Now Pilot 

I wanted to like this boot, and for what it's worth it did perform decently, for about 2 days on the hill. The problems started when the sole began to peel away from the bottom of the boot starting at the heel. Then the Boa cables began to cut through the shell and now the closure system at the toe box is separating from the shell, rendering the boot unusable as I can no longer tighten the boot adequately to ride. Needless to say I'm very disappointed in this product. As a company that touts the durability of their products (see "Endo" construction) I would've expected more. Their warranty is also horrible as it only covers manufacture defects so they won't replace (not that I would want another pair) or refund the product. Also be advised that the sole is super slippery on ice or even semi-hard snow. You can only really wear these around resort parking lots, I did one sidecountry hike in these and damn near fell off the hill.

I have pictures to document all of this but I can't seem to post them here. I did write an Amazon review you can check out if you want to see for yourself.


Great boot overall, but beware of single outer BOA, runs large

Feb 16, 2016 by Thomas
Ability Level: Advanced • 
Riding Style: All-mountain, freeride, freestyle • 
Days You Ride A Year: 20 • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 9.5 

I tried a couple of BOA boots and finally settled for the Maysis.
Overall I'm very happy, but there are some caveats.

Pro:
* BOA Conda: Internal BOA that pulls your heel into the boot. Amazing heel hold!
* Very comfy (for my foot at least)
* Fairly light
* Cool design

Con:
* Single outer BOA
* Runs large

Problematic for me was the single BOA on the outside.
When you move your leg/upper foot, the outside BOA will loosen at the top section (where there's a lot of movement) and as a result tighten up at the bottom section (where there's much less movement).
After a few runs the boot will get tighter and tighter at the bottom, leading to pain, cold or even numb feet.

For me it really helped to re-lace the outside BOA and skip the bottom part (see Paul's tip below, thanks Paul!).
That way the BOA stays tight at the top, while leaving enough room for your foot at the bottom.
The boot fits my feat well and the binding strap keeps the lower part somewhat in place too, so it's actually not too loose at the bottom.
For me it's quite perfect now!
BOA has instructions on their website how to re-lace the system. It's actually pretty simple and takes just 2-3 minutes.

With K2 Maysis+ you can adjust how the pressure is distributed between the top and bottom part of the outer BOA.
However, it's also stiffer, heavier, and more expensive.
So I decided for the Maysis. But it might be the better alternative for some people.

Lastly, the Maysis runs a little large.
In all other boots that I tried I have 10.0/28.0/43.0.
In the Maysis I have 9.5/27.5/42.5.
Also the liner packs out a bit after a couple of days, so I recommend buying it pretty snug.

My second favorite Boot that I tried was the Salomon Synapse Focus BOA.
I recommend you try that one too for comparison.


2.1 4.0 15 15 Boots are comfortable enough however after 9 days heal started lifting off the back on right boot. I glued and after another 10 more ride days the other boot heal started lifting a K2 Maysis 2010-2019 Snowboard Boot Review
Page:
12

If you can't buy through the links above, you can support the site with: