List Price US $329
K2 Maysis 2010-2019 Snowboard Boot Review
Riding Level Intermediate - Expert
Lacing Type Double BOA
Manufactured in China
Flex

Medium/Stiff

Turn Initiation

Medium/Fast

Sizing

1/2 Size Large

Boot Width

Medium

Comfort Excellent
Heel Hold Excellent
Adjustability Poor
Reduced Footprint Good

Follow us on Facebook & Instagram

Flex Retention Great
Shock Absorption Great
Traction Great
On & Off Ease Great
Warmth Excellent

K2 Maysis 2019 - 2010 Review by The Good Ride

The K2 Maysis doesn’t have much when it comes to adjustability but it really shines when it comes to locking that ankle in.  It’s also very comfortable, very well made and super easy to get on/off.

Ethics Statement: We don’t get paid by the manufacturer to write these reviews.  No one is perfect and we do make money from the “Where To Buy” links below, but this is our best attempt at an honest and objective review from an average riders’ perspective.

Days: 3
Size Tried: 9 (2019 Model) and 8.5 (2018 model)
Riders: James, Jimbo, Mary
Insoles: Footprint Insole Technology Gamechangers
Bindings: Union Atlas, Union Superpro, Union Strata,
Boards: OZ Custom Woody, Lib Tech Box Knife, K2 Manifest

James’ Foot Specs
Foot Size
: 9 US
Foot Width: D bordering on E
Arch Length: Right 9.5 and Left 9
Calves (Top of the boot): 17”
Calves (Bottom of the boot): 12”

Sizing: The K2 Maysis runs about 1/2 size large on the US Brannock Scale so the 8.5 boots fit me perfect and the 9’s felt too big.

Fit: These have an interesting fit.  They are nice and snug around the back of the foot/heel but then widen out a bit as you move towards the middle of the foot which makes these boots fit most mid-width feet as well as those who have narrow feet.

Comfort:  These are super comfortable and I really felt they were an almost perfect fit day one. These were not demoed boots but came brand new to me so the comfort factor is high.

Flex: Nice middle ground flex that works with a wide variety of boards/bindings.

Flex Retention:  K2 has what they call endo construction where there is this rubber type of support in the shell that seems to do a good job with flex retention. I haven’t personally ridden a pair for the season but the demo 8.5’s I tried had lot’s of days on them and still had a very similar flex to the brand new boots I tried.  They weren’t the same but were really good for the use they had.  The K2 Maysis also seems well built so with good care they should hold up well.

Footprint: As you can see in the pic below the 8.5 Maysis is longer than my 8.5  Adidas Tactical ADV’s from heel to toe but they aren’t as long as they used to be. Also, these Tactical ADV’s, in this size are about as small as boots get footprint wise. I had to adjust my toe straps to make these fit my bindings but I have seen a lot bigger. You also often trade warmth for reduced footprint so if warmth is important to you and you have the right width board for your boot side then these might be a good call.

18 Maysis vs. 18 Tactical ADVK2 Maysis vs. Adidas Tactical ADV Footprint

Turn Initiation:  It has nice smooth middle ground turn initiation that can power most boards. Even brand new it works well and it doesn’t overpower your turns or make the ride twitchy.

Shock Absorption: Nothing amazing but nothing bad either.

Heel Hold: This is why so many people love this boot because it’s all about wrapping that ankle up and keeping it in one place.

Adjustability: There is almost no adjustability with the Maysis.  The double BOA has one for the inside around the ankle and the other for the entire shell.  That makes this BOA boot pretty poor if you like upper and lower separation but excellent if you prefer heel hold over all else.

Traction: Great traction and the K2 Maysis rubber holds well.

On & Off Ease: Sooo easy to get on and off.  It’s just two pulls on the Boa’s and you are out of it.  Getting it on takes a bit of twisting but it’s pretty quick and easy without strings everywhere.  The convenience is really nice.

So if you can live with the lack of adjustability the K2 Maysis offers up a super comfortable super locked in a boot that’s super easy to get on and off.

 
K2 Maysis Past Reviews

The K2 Maysis Boot is a great all mountain do anything boot that is very supportive and comfortable. The Maysis is well priced, well made and good for someone who likes a good ballance between comfort and response.

Flex: The flex is medium stiff and feels pretty all mountainish.

Comfort: The liner is very cush and because of that it’s known to pack out a bit so you might want to size down 1/2 size.

Heel Hold:  You are locked in with the Maysis because the Double BOA is for the inside and outside of the boot instead of upper and lower.

Adjustability: The bad part about K2 Maysis Double BOA system is it doesn’t adjust the upper and lower boots.  There is one BOA is for the inside liner and the other is for the outside. We’d rather see upper and lower BOA’s but many people love this design and prefer an ultra locked in heel than separate upper/lower adjustablity.

Flex Retention:  It has some minor articulation in the ankle to preserve the flex but it still doesn’t compete with an articulating cuff.  It also doesn’t have “Endo” tech but it still holds it’s flex rather well for this price point and it can get through 100 days no problem.

Response: The response with the Maysis is very good and it can handle just about any board out there when it comes to turn initiation.

Traction: It’s not their higher end vibram sole but it does a good job from peak to icy parking lot.

Shock Absorption: Nice shock absorption that is in between ultra cushy and skate shoe in terms of feel. With a good binding you will be shielded from a lot of shock.

The K2 Maysis has a big following, the construction is very solid and will last a long time.  If you want the easiest boots to get in and don’t care much about upper and lower adjustability or a reduced footprint then give the Maysis a try.

 
K2 Maysis Images

We try to get as many images of the K2 Maysis, but forgive us if they're not all there.

2018

2017

2016

2015

2014

2013

2012

2011

2010

 
K2 Company Information

K2 Maysis User Reviews

Submit your product review.


Submit your review
* Required Field

K2 Maysis 2010-2019 Snowboard Boot Review SKU UPC Model

Love Lost

Feb 07, 2022 by Nick
Ability Level: Advanced if the knees allow it • 
Riding Style: Sending it • 
Days You Ride A Year: 20-40 • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 6'4'' 215lbs 12boot 

After an extensive search and trying on a ton of boots, I finally went with the Maysis, I thought I absolutely loved them. I even dealt with a boa break after the first couple of days, receiving a replacement from the factory. Oh well.. shit happens. The boots were snug right off the bat I downsize considerably, and very responsive and I thoroughly enjoyed the boots. I thought I finally found the right boots after years of disappointments.

With just 20days or so on them, the next season has come around and suddenly I can't get the boots to fit right. Constant foot pain. The shin no longer is tight and supportive without cutting off the circulation of my foot. I am now kicking of the boot search all over again while wasting money on these boots.


Only boots comfortable in my 25 years of boarding

Dec 19, 2021 by Rob Remington
Ability Level: Really? • 
Riding Style: All mountain surfing carving side hitter • 
Days You Ride A Year: 20? Whenever I can • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 5’8” 200, 9.5-10 

I have had countless boots over the years…the maysis are the first boots that are “comfortable “
Maybe the difference is that they were sized by a pro to fit me, the inner boot was heat molded to fit, as was the insert. Another way to say this is these boots were completely fitted to be comfortable.
I’ll also say I come from a generation where we had no money..mommy and daddy didn’t buy us all this stuff so we rode whatever we had and didn’t give a rats butt if our feet were comfortable. And nothing EVER matched..but I was perpetually stoked and rode, skated, surfed and biked whenever wherever
Anyway… I am now much older..and ya know…I am really diggin being comfortable…especially with all the injuries and surgeries
Yes I recommend the maysis…I’ve had these for 3 seasons now and am getting another pair this week


Too Stiff, Too Loose, Too Painful

Mar 01, 2021 by Tim
Ability Level: Advanced • 
Riding Style: All Mountain + Park • 
Days You Ride A Year: 20 • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 5' 11", 9.5 

4 years in and I've hated them since day 2.

They're super stiff but they pack down and the shin segment can never get tight enough to prevent feeling like I'm rattling around up there.

I crank the outer BOA, but then my lower foot just gets crushed. I've basically given up on the inner ankle-strap boa because my foot's already getting crushed anyway.

I suppose if you have really large calves and have an obsession with heel lift they could work for you.

Oh, and they're neither warm nor particularly waterproof. Feet are cold and liners are always soaked at the end of the day.

(Caveat that I got these after ~12 years off and my previous boots were super squishy Vans Jamie Lynn from the late 90s)


5 days in and good so far

Dec 27, 2020 by Jerry
Ability Level: Expert • 
Riding Style: Freeride, Pow, Carve • 
Days You Ride A Year: 40 • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 5-11/180cm, 178lbs/80kg, US 11 

I got this in last years model for a lot less money, it's the same I think as a 2020/2021 just a different color maybe. I wear an 11 running shoe and most everything else and I got these in 11 so the size seemed to run correct for me. The stock insoles like most boots and running shoes are just ok, so I got $40 ones with better arch support and cushion and they help my old man knees take a little less of a blow. My Union Force bindings are decent on shock absorption so the combo is good. (The Salomon Dialogue was my next choice and is the one stock insole I noticed that was comfy and squishy but these K2 boots were a great price so I couldn't resist.)

These boots are like the review says, easy on and off, comfortable, warm. My first BOA's so I'm nervous about breakage as I see what comes in the shop sometimes but a lot of boots have them now so hopefully no problems, so far no issues on mine but only 5 days so far.

I ride my front foot a little looser on the top/shin compared to my back foot, with the heel hold still a bit snugger and I don't have any issues with adjustability so far as the review suggests. I'm carving a Korua Dart 156 in these things (my size 11's won't be an issue on a board 269mm waist width) but the support is great. One problem, the outside BOA (heel hold/lower tightener) was popped out by catching on the highback on my front foot...and I didn't realize it for a while, it still supported well on a Korua carver day. I think I am going to cut a small slice on my highback out of the way. It may be my weird old school Regular +30/+21 stance and setting the front foot highback angled to be more parallel to the board bringing it around my calf towards the upper BOA knob and that's not really the boot's fault. All in all so far these boots are sweet.


Heal falls off and they leak

Mar 13, 2020 by Michael
Ability Level: Advanced • 
Riding Style: All Mountain • 
Days You Ride A Year: 50 • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 6' Size 11 

Boots are comfortable enough however after 9 days heal started lifting off the back on right boot. I glued and after another 10 more ride days the other boot heal started lifting and leaking. I sent in for warranty and they re-glued :( $450 dollar boots.....I could have done that....these boots are faulty, will never buy this brand again. Think Ride own them or distribute them in Australia. Don't waste your $$


Disappointment

Feb 21, 2020 by Steve
Ability Level: Expert • 
Riding Style: Park/backcountry • 
Days You Ride A Year: 60 • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 6 feet, 200 lbs size 11 

I had High Hopes when I bought these boots since they were performance boots and made for an expert level.

However, after riding them for approximately 15 days there was pinch points in the boots, a severe heel lift in it, as well as the spacing between the toes was massive so they created a lot of cold spots. These boots fit HUGE and I had to downsize to a 10 from a boot size normally of 11.

After riding him for about eight days I tried to convince myself that I love these boots at the price point. However I was very disappointed. I would not recommend These Boots, if you are high performance snowboarder.

I switch to Burton boots which were significantly better.

I would spend my money elsewhere at this price point and I have owned a number of snowboard boots in the past and this one definitely had the worst heel lifts I've ever had despite it apparently fitting properly from where I bought them.


Uncomfortable and they leak moisture

Jan 02, 2020 by Bob Thompson
Ability Level: Intermediate • 
Riding Style: All Mountain • 
Days You Ride A Year: 15 • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 5'11" Size 9 

After about 12 rides, I am not happy with the fit. Only way to avoid cramping my foot is to leave the bindings too loose. I have tried all the combinations of internal and external boa adjustments. Lately I have noticed my boots smell and I have discovered that the boots leak somehow into the bottom of the footbed. So even when they seem dry on the inside, there is moisture under the insert which is getting moldy. I have a slightly wide foot so that might be part of the fit problem for these boots. Overall I don't recommend them.


Great boots

Apr 30, 2019 by Kim Ghesquiere
Ability Level: Advanced • 
Riding Style: Freeride/Freestyle • 
Days You Ride A Year: 30 

Best boots for me since my Vans Andreas Wiig 2009. After those i tried newer Vans and Nike Air Force One boots and they were total rubbish compared to these. The Maysis are fairly comfortable but mostly have great heel hold while i can leave the outer boa a bit looser to allow some leg movement. Relatively large footprint but don't see that as a problem. You'll never get cold feet in these boots! I've ridden these on Slash ATV, Straight and Jones UMT boards with burton mission and union fc bindings.


Ugg boots are better

Mar 12, 2019 by Jimmy
Ability Level: Expert • 
Riding Style: ALL MTN • 
Days You Ride A Year: 100+ 

The WORST....Flimsy dont waste your money and time


VERY BAD

Aug 23, 2018 by teodor natan
Ability Level: Expert • 
Riding Style: All mountain • 
Days You Ride A Year: 45+ • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 156, 70kg,rome Katanas 

I read about this boot as being a very good one. I bought this years model 2018, and after riding the very first day, my ankles took alot of beating and smashing. The pain is terrible from that new BOA CONDA system they use, Its CLEARLY HAS NOT BEEN TESTED ENOUGHT!
After 2-3 days of riding now and then the boots, changing with Nitro TLS, I noticed that the boot literaly started cracking and breaking down, in the front part from the Katana bindings ...what a joke...what a waste of time and money!
SHAME K2 !


2.3 5.0 19 19 After an extensive search and trying on a ton of boots, I finally went with the Maysis, I thought I absolutely loved them. I even dealt with a boa break after the first couple of d K2 Maysis 2010-2019 Snowboard Boot Review
Page:
12

If you can't buy through the links above, you can support the site with: