Price US $249

K2 Maysis 2014 - 2010 Review by The Good Ride

The K2 Maysis Boot is a great all mountain do anything boot that is very supportive and comfortable. The Maysis is well priced, well made and good for someone who likes a good ballance between comfort and response.

Flex: The flex is medium stiff and feels pretty all mountainish.

Comfort: The liner is very cush and because of that it’s known to pack out a bit so you might want to size down 1/2 size.

Heel Hold:  You are locked in with the Maysis because the Double BOA is for the inside and outside of the boot instead of upper and lower.

Adjustability: The bad part about K2 Maysis Double BOA system is it doesn’t adjust the upper and lower boots.  There is one BOA is for the inside liner and the other is for the outside. We’d rather see upper and lower BOA’s but many people love this design and prefer an ultra locked in heel than separate upper/lower adjustablity.

Flex Retention:  It has some minor articulation in the ankle to preserve the flex but it still doesn’t compete with an articulating cuff.  It also doesn’t have “Endo” tech but it still holds it’s flex rather well for this price point and it can get through 100 days no problem.

Response: The response with the Maysis is very good and it can handle just about any board out there when it comes to turn initiation.

Traction: It’s not their higher end vibram sole but it does a good job from peak to icy parking lot.

Shock Absorption: Nice shock absorption that is in between ultra cushy and skate shoe in terms of feel. With a good binding you will be shielded from a lot of shock.

The K2 Maysis has a big following, the construction is very solid and will last a long time.  If you want the easiest boots to get in and don’t care much about upper and lower adjustability or a reduced footprint then give the Maysis a try.

Read the whole review

User Reviews of the K2 Maysis

Submit your product review.

Submit your review
* Required Field

K2 Maysis Review And Buying Advice SKU UPC Model

Good for about 2 days

Apr 18, 2016 by Phil
Ability Level: Intermediate-Advanced • 
Riding Style: Aggressive Freestyle All-Mountain • 
Days You Ride A Year: 20 • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 5'7" 165-170lbs, 9.5 boot, Now IPO, Now Pilot 

I wanted to like this boot, and for what it's worth it did perform decently, for about 2 days on the hill. The problems started when the sole began to peel away from the bottom of the boot starting at the heel. Then the Boa cables began to cut through the shell and now the closure system at the toe box is separating from the shell, rendering the boot unusable as I can no longer tighten the boot adequately to ride. Needless to say I'm very disappointed in this product. As a company that touts the durability of their products (see "Endo" construction) I would've expected more. Their warranty is also horrible as it only covers manufacture defects so they won't replace (not that I would want another pair) or refund the product. Also be advised that the sole is super slippery on ice or even semi-hard snow. You can only really wear these around resort parking lots, I did one sidecountry hike in these and damn near fell off the hill.

I have pictures to document all of this but I can't seem to post them here. I did write an Amazon review you can check out if you want to see for yourself.

Great boot overall, but beware of single outer BOA, runs large

Feb 16, 2016 by Thomas
Ability Level: Advanced • 
Riding Style: All-mountain, freeride, freestyle • 
Days You Ride A Year: 20 • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 9.5 

I tried a couple of BOA boots and finally settled for the Maysis.
Overall I'm very happy, but there are some caveats.

* BOA Conda: Internal BOA that pulls your heel into the boot. Amazing heel hold!
* Very comfy (for my foot at least)
* Fairly light
* Cool design

* Single outer BOA
* Runs large

Problematic for me was the single BOA on the outside.
When you move your leg/upper foot, the outside BOA will loosen at the top section (where there's a lot of movement) and as a result tighten up at the bottom section (where there's much less movement).
After a few runs the boot will get tighter and tighter at the bottom, leading to pain, cold or even numb feet.

For me it really helped to re-lace the outside BOA and skip the bottom part (see Paul's tip below, thanks Paul!).
That way the BOA stays tight at the top, while leaving enough room for your foot at the bottom.
The boot fits my feat well and the binding strap keeps the lower part somewhat in place too, so it's actually not too loose at the bottom.
For me it's quite perfect now!
BOA has instructions on their website how to re-lace the system. It's actually pretty simple and takes just 2-3 minutes.

With K2 Maysis+ you can adjust how the pressure is distributed between the top and bottom part of the outer BOA.
However, it's also stiffer, heavier, and more expensive.
So I decided for the Maysis. But it might be the better alternative for some people.

Lastly, the Maysis runs a little large.
In all other boots that I tried I have 10.0/28.0/43.0.
In the Maysis I have 9.5/27.5/42.5.
Also the liner packs out a bit after a couple of days, so I recommend buying it pretty snug.

My second favorite Boot that I tried was the Salomon Synapse Focus BOA.
I recommend you try that one too for comparison.

Great boot

Feb 02, 2016 by Fletch
Ability Level: Intermediate • 
Riding Style: Freeride • 
Days You Ride A Year: 20+ • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 5'9", 175, 9 

I'll preface this with the fact that I have poor foot circulation. Every boot I've ever worn has caused varying levels of pain/discomfort in my toes and feet if I'm not careful...and the better the hold, the tougher it's been to find a good balance. The tough part is that heel-hold is paramount to my snowboard experience.

The first time I put my feet in the Maysis and cinched it up I knew it would work perfectly for me. That heel-hold is like nothing I've ever found elsewhere. It's really amazing. I was worried that the compromise would be that the boot would become too painful, especially because of the way the Boa system works in this boot, but I'm pleased to say I was wrong.

The Boa system in this boot works so well and is so easy to use that it's no sweat to pop out the fasteners at the end of each run to let my feet chill and then quickly and easily tighten everything up when I'm ready to roll at the top of the run. I did replace the stock foot liners/beds with some aftermarket ones, but I don't have a comparison b/c I did that right away.

Anyway, I love this boot. For my style of riding it's perfect. I've had zero things go wrong with it, and the break-in has maintained its stiffness. The only reason I haven't given it five stars is I feel like a three Boa system would make it perfect to better control the top, bottom, AND heel.

Responsive, but worried about Longevity

Dec 07, 2015 by Anthony
Ability Level: Intermediate • 
Riding Style: All Mountain • 
Days You Ride A Year: 20 • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 11 

Unique inner-lining adjustability
BOA locks in the heel

Initial discomfort/pain when riding
Early wear on binding contact points

I've mostly been riding Burton boots and wanted to try something different with the K2s. I was looking for a slightly stiffer/more responsive boot than my Burton Rulers, and was interested in trying out the BOA system. A local shop rep recommended these. These felt much stiffer than my old Rulers. I actually need to get used to how different the response feels, especially when engaging the toe edge.

While these boots were very comfortable when trying them on in the store, my first day of riding led to some serious foot pain and numbness in my toes. I haven't had the liners molded though, so I might just need to give it a few more days to let them break-in.

I like that the inner lining is adjustable via the BOA, rather than having a separate pull-and-lock tightener.

My issue is with the durability of the outer shell. After a single day of riding, there is a nice little hole worn in the back of the boot where it makes contact with my binding. I tried to bring them back for a warranty replacement, but the manager told me that K2 would consider this "normal wear-and-tear" and that he couldn't help me. This is not an issue I'm used to seeing. I've put 50+ days on my Rulers and haven't noticed any holes or tearing on the binding contact points. To have this happen on my first day of using them is disappointing.

Finally, there isn't a whole lot of footprint reduction with these compared with the Burtons. I wear a size 11 and am definitely getting some toe-overhang.

For me, the pros don't outweigh the cons. I'll ride these for the rest of the season and hopefully the comfort gets better as they break-in, but I'm worried about the longevity of the outer shell. So far I've only had 1 day in these boots, so I'll have to update this review when I get more time in.


Dec 02, 2015 by Paul
Ability Level: Advanced • 
Riding Style: All moutain • 
Days You Ride A Year: 40 plus 

Update on the previous post. Relacing the boot with just the 2 lace feeds has worked. Now i can get a tight fit on my shin while giving my feet, toes room. The boot is finally comfortable.....


Nov 23, 2015 by Paul
Ability Level: Advanced • 
Riding Style: All mountain • 
Days You Ride A Year: L 

I purchased these boots last boots last year and had the same problems the other reviewer mentioned. I thought I just had to wear them in but they were still giving me pain in the toes after at least 20 days. I know 2 other poeple in town who also have the issue. K2 says the Maysis are their highest selling boot so i'm guessing there's a lot of sore feet out there.

I have come up with an idea that might fix the problem though, I relaced the boot with just the top 2 lace feeds so you can have the tight fit on the shin while leaving room for the feet.
Opening day is next weekend so i will see if that works.

Upper/Lower BOA would be better

Nov 25, 2013 by Gary Morris
Ability Level: Intermediate • 
Riding Style: Freeride • 
Days You Ride A Year: 15 

This was my first boot aside from rentals. With a size 13 foot (no half sizes available), I wanted to try on boots in the store from various manufacturers to see which fit best. Many boots suffered from my heel popping up. Honestly I don't know whether that would be a realistic problem on the mountain or just something i would suffer in the store. The K2 maysis by far was the most comfy boot I put on my foot, and the heel lockdown BOA satisfied my concern of the heel possibly coming out.

The issue I have thought with this boot is that I like it very stiff, especially on the upper cuff. I found I had to really wrench the boa tight to get the adequate stiffness. After several hours, it would cut off the circulation in my lower foot/toes and become extremely painful. I would sometimes actually take my socks off in order to find a comfortable fit with adequate tightness at the top. On my next purchase, i will find a boot with upper and lower adjustment. I think with that, you wouldn't need a heel lockdown adjustment. When I use my Maysis, halfway through the day I pop the boa in between runs to give my toes a chance to breathe, and then have to go through the additional step of tightening them when getting off the lift. Luckily it's not difficult to do that, but I'm not getting the super comfy feel that is supposed to be the benefit of snowboard boots vs ski boots.

I do feel, however, that different feet will have different results. My point here is to try in the store to tighten it good and ensure your lowest extremities are still comfy. If so, then this boot is really nice.

2.7 4.0 7 7 I wanted to like this boot, and for what it's worth it did perform decently, for about 2 days on the hill. The problems started when the sole began to peel away from the bottom of K2 Maysis Review And Buying Advice

Riding Level

Intermediate - Expert

Lacing Type

Double BOA

Manufactured in



Turn Initiation




Heel Hold




Reduced Footprint


Flex Retention


Shock Absorption




On & Off Ease