Price US $696

Lib Tech TRS Horsepower 2016-2014 Snowboard Review

Lib Tech TRS Horsepower 2016 - 2014 Review by The Good Ride

Past Reviews

The Lib Tech TRS Horsepower is the same TRS design but just for those that want a lighter TRS and are willing to pay extra for it. For 2017 the TRS now has HP Tech so the TRS and TRS HP have merged into one board.

Size: 159
Days:  1
Conditions: Good early conditions with soft snow in most places.
Riders: James, Jimbo,
Boots: Burton SLX,
Bindings:  Burton Genesis
Set Up: Centered 15 front -15 Back

Approximate Weight:  Feels normal bordering on light and a little lighter than the regular TRS

On Snow Feel: Same great stable feel between the feet that many hybrid rocker boards don’t often have. Just a little behind the hybrid camber boards out there but still much better than C2 or EC2 when it comes to one footing and flat basing.

Powder: No powder to ride but since it has the same shape and camber profile as the standard TRS it’s not that great when it comes to float for a hybrid rocker board. That’s where it could use some work with either a set back stance or a bigger nose/tail.  It could

Turn Initiation: Just like the TRS but a little

Skidded Turns: Very easy to make skidded turns even with the extra camber.

Carving: It’s a good carver and better than all their C2 technologies but not in the same game as their C3 tech.  Still good enough to have fun carving all day if the mood strikes you and it will also carve better in harder conditions than many boards out there.

Speed: Feels just as fast as the standard TRS

Uneven Terrain: Pretty good when it gets bumpy and you can

Edge Hold: Strong edge hold that’s great in hard to icy conditions but it can be a little bit grabby in softer snow.

Flex: Feels stiffer than the older model I had by a good bit and feels just about the same as the standard TRS this time. This is good as the other TRS HP I had just didn’t quite have the mountain speed that the other TRS had.

Switch: Very easy swtich. Very close to being a true twin. Same flex, side cut and such but just a little longer nose than tail so pretty much a true twin.

Jibbing: It’s a pretty expensive board to jib with.

Pipe: Outstanding pipe ride that drives well enough from wall to wall and also grips well too.

So its a tough call to recommend the HP version over the regular because they are so similar except for the weight.




Past Reviews

2015 and 2014 Lib Tech TRS Horsepower Review

The Lib Tech TRS Horsepower has the same camber profile and shape as the TRS but the Horsepower version is lighter snappier and a little less damp. I found this my go to board this season for when the snow got hard as well as a fun twin for mountain and park riding.

Size: 157 & 159
Days: 15+
Conditions: Man made snow that was well groomed in the morning to choppy bumpy snow mid day. A little bit of Pow, Hard ass snow and some softer days too.
Riders: James, Peter and a few other friends
Boots: Burton Imperial, Burton Hail, Nike Lunarendore
Bindings: Burton Genesis, Flux DS, Union Contact Pro, Union Force, Union Factory Burton Cartel, Burton Malavita and a few others.
Set Up: centered 23″ wide 15 front -15 back

Weight: 6.2 lbs Feels normal like most boards out there.

On Snow Feel: Same great stable feel on the snow and it almost doesn’t feel like a hybrid rocker board. It feels much closer to the hybrid camber boards I have ridden. It’s much easier to one foot and flat base than most C2 BTX and a little easier than many C2 Power BTX boards I have ridden. It’s got a quick poppy snappy feel to it but it’s also got an easier flex than the regular TRS.

Powder: I only had one day with about 6″ of thick sierra cement….I mean powder and with a centered stance it wasn’t that taxing on my back foot in wind loaded areas that were more like a foot.

Turn Initiation and Carving: Nice and quick edge to edge and a very easy turning board. Short to wider radius turns are very easy. I really like this quick snappy feel and it held really well on a carve. You can really feel the camber at the tip/tail engage and help you spring out of a turn much better than many hybrid rocker boards I tried. It’s a fun feeling. Don’t get me wrong. This doesn’t compare to a good camber board but it’s at the top of the hybrid rocker category as well as right there with many mostly camber hybrid camber boards I rode. It’s easy into the turn and feels like it might get washy but the more you commit to the turn the more the camber comes into play.

Speed: It didn’t feel as damp as the regular TRS and the more I rode this the more I could feel it. At first I wasn’t sure but after getting on a regular TRS I could feel it. I felt more of the snow underfoot as I picked up speed as the snow got a little tracked on the groomers. The regular TRS did better here. The base though was fast and picked up speed really quickly. If you pair this up with bindings like the Union Force or Union Factory you can get less chatter underfoot but I found the Cartel to be the best balance between speed, butterability and edge to edge transitioning.

Uneven Terrain: This was really easy to deal with pushed around bumpy snow that started to accumulate mid day. It’s easy to work your way through bumpy snow at slower speeds but if you want to power through it at higher speeds it’s not the best fit. You could feel the MTX grabbing here and there in softer bumpy snow but it’s still pretty quick negotiating bumps.

Edge Hold: Grabbed anything on the hill. Even with snowment patches the TRS horsepower grabbed without a problem. Some times like with many MTX boards it grabbed a little too much in softer snow but you do get use to it. For me this was one of my favorite boards to take out when conditions were harder.

Flex: It felt like the Lib Tech TRS Horsepower flexed a little softer on the hill than the TRS. It felt a little more playful and poppy but a bit on the softer side of medium. Pretty easy to butter especially with the Burton Genesis I had on.

Switch: Easy board to ride switch and it’s a mostly true twin. The tip is taller than the tail for better directional powder float but the Tail is a little shorter. It can get in your head that it’s different but when riding switch I didn’t feel much or any of a difference either way.

Jibbing: The slightly softer flex made it easier to hit a mild jib with the horsepower than the regular TRS but this is such an expensive board I wanted to keep it mainly for pipe, jump and mountain riding.

Pipe: This winter sucked for me riding pipe and I only had one day in the pipe with it. I was not in tune with pipe riding and thought I would suck but the TRS is just a confidence booster that makes you ride better than you would think and I had a much better time than I thought I would fumbling through the pipe.

Jumps: Really good pringy pop and the TRS Horsepower was easy to ollie with and hit small natural features as well as hit small to medium jumps. You could tell there is a little softer flex than the regular TRS but it’s still got an easier spring to it and would cater to a lighter rider better than the regular TRS.

So all in all this was a very fun board to ride. I’m confused now as to weather or not I’d rather be on the TRS or TRS Horsepower. It’s got a good personality to it that is slightly different than the regular TRS. I’d like to get both of these on the snow at the same time but haven’t had the chance yet.
2014 Binding Comparison on The Lib Tech TRS Horsepower

Read the whole review

User Reviews of the Lib Tech TRS Horsepower

Submit your product review.


Submit your review
* Required Field

Lib Tech TRS Horsepower 2016-2014 Snowboard Review SKU UPC Model

Adam A

May 02, 2014 by Adam
Ability Level: Advanced-Expert • 
Riding Style: Fun • 
Days You Ride A Year: 15-20 

150cm 2012/2013 mode. l James helped my find this board and I am truly thankful for his subjective, expert advice, organization diligence with this website.

OERALL EXPERIENCE : 4.5 stars
In short the TRS Horsepower is a fantastic board. There is very little you can fault with it. Its very easy and forgiving yet stable at speed and has a very agile feeling. Paired with a light binding with good flex under foot (Union Force SL's in my case) and you have a recipe to exploit the agility of the board, quicken turn initiation and really help reduce the spun weight.

GROOMERS, HARD-PACK, SLUSH, ICE, CRUD : 5 stars
It fells very lose at first but once you get a feel for the rocker you can really take some liberties with the board. The combination of rocker, chamber, and magne-traction is brilliant. Each bit of geometry is tuned with one another very well and inspire confidanced. Ice and bullet-prof conditions are a breeze. You can make a meal of of slush and sugar conditions, just lay the edge in and lean in as much as you want. It is on the wider side so I make sure to wax often. I also really like to go as fast as I can.

TOP SHEET : 5 stars
The horsepower top sheet is very responsive and the pop is effortless. I have road both the horsepower and fiberglass back to back same day, same conditions, and I prefer the horsepower. Not only does it improve pop but it felt a little more stable as speed. I know some people don't like the aesthetics, I personally like the glittery look of the horsepower. Normally I would say its just up to personal taste but the horsepower is just better. Get over it and ride a glitter board.

POW : 4 starts
The board does float well compared to other all mountain freestyle boards. In shallow to medium pow it has good float and a nice bounce out of turns. However, I had it on a hell trip in Revelstoke BC and it didn't float enough in the really deep stuff. I think the 161 would give someone in the 170-200 lbs. weight range a better pow experience. The real issue with the board in pow is the centered stance. I had it set back all the way, like the 4 bolts occupying the last 2 rows of holes in the board with the very last 2 rows available on the biding and it still didn't feel super floaty. I admit this is really nit picky stuff, I have rode it many vertical feet in the pow at resorts and its been a peach. Its only the really deep stuff that I feel the board sinks too much. It's a tall order to make a board perform well in absolutely every type of snow condition.

Really, if you are getting alot of pow days in, you have to look into a powder specific board. I got to ride a Burton Fish on the hell trip and the experience was eye opening to powder specific boards. The float is simply amazing. It feels a little like riding a wakeboard or short surf board but with alot less effort. Makes the old back leg alot less on fire.

Hope this helps. I would buy it again given the chance.


2014 Lib Tech TRS HP

Apr 26, 2014 by Nicholas
Ability Level: Advanced • 
Riding Style: All Mountain • 
Days You Ride A Year: 30 

I also own the 2013 version of the TRS, which I never totally got along with. The change in 2014 to the XC2 profile corrects any issues I had with the C2 version. The board is more stable end to end, but the higher rocker between the feet keeps it just as playful as before.
This board carves well and feels quite stable for a hybrid rocker board.
The HP version (new for 2014) does feel a bit softer than the regular version, which makes for an easier time to flex the board for presses/butters.
The full magnetraction (not the .5 version) works well on snowmelt and ice.
Very happy with this board as all-mountain freestyle.


Lib tech trs Hp

Feb 15, 2014 by Eric
Ability Level: All mountain • 
Riding Style: All mountain with a little park • 
Days You Ride A Year: 20 

The lib tech trs HP is great. I have been on a skate banana for the last few seasons, wanted to make a switch to a more all mountain board. This board filled the need
Notably stiffer then the banana, much less flat foot high speed wobbles. Great at carving. Great edge hold. Noticeable liter then the banana.
Love magnatraction.

Another board from a great board company.

Thanks to P3 in mammoth lakes


5.0 5.0 3 3 150cm 2012/2013 mode. l James helped my find this board and I am truly thankful for his subjective, expert advice, organization diligence with this website. OERALL EXPERIENCE : Lib Tech TRS Horsepower 2016-2014 Snowboard Review

Riding Style

All Mountain Freestyle

Riding Level

Intermediate - Expert

Available Widths

Regular

Manufactured in

USA by Mervin

Shape

True Twin

Camber Profile

Hybrid Rocker

Stance

Centered

Approx. Weight

Feels Normal

On Snow Feel

Stable

Turn Initiation

Medium/Fast

Flex

Medium/Soft

Edge Hold

Icy Snow

Powder

Average

Carving

Good

Speed

Average

Uneven Terrain

Great

Switch

Great

Jumps

Great

Jibbing

Good

Pipe

Excellent