List Price US $569
Never Summer Proto Type Two 2016-2019 Snowboard Review

Follow us on Facebook & Instagram

Overall Rating Loved it!
Riding Style All Mountain Freestyle
Riding Level Intermediate - Expert
Fits Boot size (US) 8-10, 10-12, > 12
Manufactured in USA by Never Summer
Shape Asymmetrical Twin
Camber Profile Hybrid Rocker
Stance Centered
Approx. Weight Feels Normal
Powder Average
Turning Experience Great
Carving Good
Speed Good
Uneven Terrain Great
Switch Excellent
Jumps Excellent
Jibbing Good
Pipe Great
On Snow Feel

Semi-Stable

Turn Initiation

Fast

Skidded Turns

Semi-Easy

Flex

Medium

Buttering

Semi-Easy

Edge Hold

Hard Snow

Never Summer Proto Type Two 2019 - 2016 Review by The Good Ride

The Never Summer Proto Type Two is the continuation of the Proto with more camber and an Asymmetrical sidecut. So with the current line, the Proto Type II is a step up in flex to the Funslinger for those that want a more mountain friendly asymmetrical twin and a more camber healthy version of the Warlock. We love this board and I (Biesty) own one as it’s a favorite that we use to compare against other boards.  That being said, it often get’s overprescribed so make sure you know what you are getting into before throwing down your hard earned cash. That way you will be as happy as we are.

Nothing has really changed with the 2019 Proto Type Two so the 2018 review still stands and I’m keeping my 157

My first thought after a day of riding is I have to remove the Favorite label from the Proto and move it to the Proto Type II as the extra camber and asymmetry really rounds out the overall ride.

Size: 157, 155x and 158x
Days:  20+ and probably more if you are reading this in winter.
Conditions: Pretty much every condition out there from pretty hard snow to about 1 foot of powder.
Riders: James (Size 9, 5’10” 185-195lbs), Jimbo (Size 11, 5’11” 160lbs), Zobel (Size 11.5, 6’ 180lbs, Peter (Size 8, 5’11” 185lbs), Tim, Jack, Grant (Size 11 6’ 160lbs)
Boots: Adidas Tactical ADV, Burton SLX, Burton Rover, Burton AMBRide RFL
Insoles: Sandsole Custom Insoles,  Footprint Insole Technology Gameghangers Low Profile
Bindings: Union AtlasUnion Superpro, Burton Genesis, Burton Genesis X, Burton Cartel, Union Force, Union Contact, Union Contact Pro and a few others
Set Up: Centered (always as it’s an asymmetrical twin) 15 front -15 back 22, 22.5″ and 23″ wide

Approximate Weight: Doesn’t feel heavy or light.  Just normal.

Sizing: The 157 worked great for our smaller boot guys all under size 10 and the X’s were a great fit for our 11 ish riders. If you are in the 12 plus size range then best to go with the bigger sizes like the 164x if they fit your weight and height well.

Flex/Buttering: Great flex that doesn’t bend in the middle like the Funslinger does but also butters easier and has a more playful feel than the Ripsaw.  The extra camber in the tip and tail snap out of a butter or press really well too.

On Snow Feel: There is a definite bump in terms of stability compared to the Proto and it’s much closer to most hybrid camber boards when one footing or flat basing.  It can still be a little loose in the harder snow like we encountered getting off the chair but it’s much better with the Ripsaw Camber Profile.  It’s the kind of board that wants you to treat the whole mountain like a park and rides switch a lot. Also being an Asymmetrical board it prefers riders with a centered duck stance so don’t get it if you like to set it back and ride 18 front 0 back.  It really likes stance symmetry for the asymmetry to work. Even with the extra camber, the Type Two can still easily skid a turn and it’s not in any way unforgiving.

Never Summer Type Two Camber Profile

Turn Initiation: Really quick and borderline snappy edge to edge and it’s a board that’s fun to make quick turns with.  It’s still fun making slower and wider turns.

Turning Experience: Not sure what it is about the Never Summer Proto Type Two but it’s super fun to turn. I think that’s why so many people like it.  I think it’s the asymmetrical side cut but maybe it’s a combo of things all working together to make it super fun to turn.

Carving: What an improvement.  Soo much more fun to carve than the proto and you can really feel the Never Summer Type Two hold and power out of the turn way better than the Old Proto. If you like to carve switch and regular then this is a great choice.

Powder: Not ideal for directional powder riding and not really a board you can set back much or at all.  Also because of the Asymmetrical side cuts, it’s best to keep it centered and duck at all times in order for it to turn better.   I’d much rather be on the West for setting it back and getting a more directional float.  It’s a better board for that. This is the biggest differentiation between the West and the Proto Type II.  So if you are going to set your stance back in powder the West is definitely the call.  If you ride switch a lot in powder and don’t set your board back then you will enjoy the Proto Type II as it floats pretty well when the stance is centered.

Speed:  Same dampness as the Proto but with more stability so it works really well riding the mountain.  It’s a nice in between board from the Funslinger and the Ripsaw for speed and it’s much better on the mountain than the Funslinger.

Uneven Terrain: Never Summers boards handle uneven terrain just right.  They really know how to make a board work well in bumpy crappy all day resort riding snow.

Edge Hold: Same great grip as the old Proto did that can handle all the conditions you want to ride in. It’s not great in ice but who wants to ride in ice anyways.

Switch: Going to an Asymmetrical Twin means it’s actually more symmetrical for how you ride the board so it’s even better riding switch than the Proto.

Jibbing: Not a strong jibber but very doable. I’d rather be on the Funslinger and love how the middle bends around the feature.  The Proto Type II wasn’t perfect but it’s ok if you aren’t getting too technical there.

Pipe: I would love to lap the pipe with this board and that extra camber and more stability will make it a little better than the Proto going from wall to wall. After a few runs, I knew I was at home in the 16-18 foot pipe just like I was with the Old Proto only that extra camber helps it drive better from wall to wall. The only thing I could ask for is a little extra grip for that mid-winter solid ice pipe but other than that it’s practically perfect for riders of all levels.

Jumps: Nice pop and love the extra camber.  Never summer boards can feel rubbery damp and like they won’t pop until you actually Ollie.  Then you realize it’s got lots of pop. It’s the kind of board that can handle most kickers the average jump enthusiast will hit from small to pretty big.

All in all the Ripsaw Camber profile and the Asymmetrical sidecut make for a much better all around ride than the Proto.  I’m glad the Never Summer Type Two came out this year because this would have been the last year that the Proto would have been a favorite.

 
Never Summer Proto Type Two Past Reviews

 

 
Never Summer Proto Type Two Specs

 
Never Summer Proto Type Two Images

We try to get as many images of the Never Summer Proto Type Two, but forgive us if they're not all there.

2019

2018

2017

2016

 
Never Summer Company Information

Never Summer Proto Type Two User Reviews

Submit your product review.


Submit your review
* Required Field

Never Summer Proto Type Two 2016-2019 Snowboard Review SKU UPC Model

Best quiver of one board

Dec 13, 2018 by Drew
Ability Level: Advanced • 
Riding Style: All Mountain/Freestyle • 
Days You Ride A Year: 20 • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 5'11 175 lbs 10.5 Adidas Response with Burton Cartel Bindings 

So I spent several months researching what board to buy. Originally, I had ruled the NS Proto Type 2 out solely based on the graphic (1st mistake). I then decided to go with another board and purchased it (2nd mistake). Luckily, they oversold the board and I was left searching again. I reconsidered the PT2 and could not figure out why I ruled it out in the first place. On paper the board was the perfect board for me and my third mistake was that I had not purchased the board earlier.

I bought a 157 PT2, paired it with Burton Cartels and Adidas Response boots. I rode it for the first time last weekend and I could not be happier. This board does everything you ask of it. With little effort, it turns a good rider into a much better one. It butters easy, it is stable at speed, it jumps and jibs well, isn't very good in powder but I've ridden worse and did I mention this thing carves like a dream. You wont want to get off this board. The resort basically had to kick me out because I would have stayed on it all night.

Personally, my style is All Mountain/Freestyle. I ride mostly east coast groomers with the seasonal trip out west. Ive had the same directional twin for the last ten years and loved it but I wanted to add more freestyle and switch to my riding. I wanted to have one board to fit my style and I found it.

Bottom line: A one board quiver is completely based on the rider and their style.

-If you want an awesome board that butters, rides switch, sucks you into carves, is soft on landings, and you ride mostly groomers: stop reading reviews and buy this board. It is not the fasted board and it is not the best for pow days but you will have the time of your life riding it!

I cant say enough good things about this board. Unless you ride heavy pow on a big mountain, you will not be disappointed with this board! It should definitely be considered one of the greatest of all time! With some invaluable advice and reviews from Biesty and TGR, Ive found my perfect board that I will ride for another ten years.


Nice upgrade from NS Cobra

Nov 29, 2018 by Hokkoda
Ability Level: Advanced • 
Riding Style: All mountain / freestyle • 
Days You Ride A Year: 20-30 • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 5’11”, 170lbs, size 10 US, K2 Renin boots, Burton Genesis bindings 

Wanted an all mountain “do it all” board that would ride like an upgrade to my NS Cobra (which is a tall order). My son got the Cobra, and after much consideration (and frustration that NA seems to have gone insane with their “lake bass / elk on a snowboard” West graphics), I got the PT2.

Lucked out with my first two days being some great early season CO conditions, a mix of resort hard pack, chowder, and 10” of fresh in the trees and some open areas ATL. Since the park isn’t open yet, and I don’t ride in the pipe anyway, I got a great 2-days to get to know my board.

The short review is “everything TGR said, ditto”, and I definitely felt like I had upgraded from the Cobra. Good speed and edge hold, super quick turns (only 1cm shorter than my Cobra, but felt like it was a foot shorter). More pop under-foot which made the bumps more fun. Very confident in changing conditions from 12,000’ soft snow to 9,600’ riding into the base area.

The top sheet is amazingly sticky, better than my Cobra in terms of riding with one foot out, on/off lift, and felt very confident zipping downhill to the other lift without strapping in. (The Cobra likes to spin in those situations.)

All in all, I feel like I made a great choice, and didn’t have to wait a month to ride it in many different conditions since it was driving snow all weekend.


The most complete twin I have in my collection

Jan 10, 2018 by Morris G
Ability Level: Intermediate • 
Riding Style: Freeride and All mountain / Freestyle • 
Days You Ride A Year: About 6 weeks per seasson • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 1.72 meters tall, 73 kilos, 9.5 US size boots. Different bindings and boots depending on the occasion 

I give this board a 5 stars cause this board does everything very very very good..... you could find specific boards that will do those specific things better but in over all this board does great in everything. I guess I will just tell you my highlights, this board is really damped which is great for my knees and body in general just makes any terrain feel good, this board carves really good, actually I paired this board with my Burton Cartels LTD and is a carving machine, this board holds an edge, because I live in Barcelona when I cant take an entire week to go to France or other Alpes regions I ride in the Catalan Pireneus and sometimes the conditions are a bit icey and this board holds an edge in those conditions, in better conditions this board holds freaking amazingly. Although this board invites you to be an aggressive rider and it does have some what of an aggressive personality this board also has a "fun" side, cause this board you are able to press, you are able to make flat land tricks, and you are able to do your freestyle fun ride as well. This board has helped me big time improving my switch riding, big time!!!! Yesterday I was riding switch at full speed for the first time! was amazing!
I took this board to Tignes, France where I mainly do out of piste deep pow riding, I also took my Jones Ultracraft which is the board I take for those trips........ I had to set my stance back all the way which completely changed the feeling of this board for me and I really did not enjoy the new feeling, I had to work really hard in general to keep my self at float but I must say this board was able to ride powder....... that being said, I ended up EXTREMELY tired and I only did that one day, the rest of the week I rode my Ultracraft..... so this board does ride powder but if you are like me and have a powder specific board you probably will want to save your energies, if you don´t have a powder board....... I think you will work on your freeride technique with this board and you will be able to enjoy the powder but you will have to work really hard and get your freeride technique on point. Oh I almost forgot! this board is FAST!
Only one thing I feel this board lacks of is the jump side..... I think a full cambered board normally does much better jumping than this board but again, this board does good at jumping.

if you are interested in my set up with this board is Cartels LTD bindings with 32 - 3M boots.....


Fantastic Board!

Dec 15, 2017 by Nick
Ability Level: Intermediate-Advanced • 
Riding Style: All Mountain with a little Freestyle • 
Days You Ride A Year: 20-30 • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 5'10" 185lbs 8 boot, 157 board 

Before I begin I would like to let you everyone know that this will be my first ever board review. I'm also not big on reviews, but I love this thing so much I think I owe it to this board to write something nice about her. So, here goes nothing.

For the record, I paired this board with Burton Photons and old Now IPOs (going to upgrade my bindings to the Union Falcor soon cause this board can handle them).

After much research and consideration (almost painstaking) I decided to to go with the 2018 NS Proto Type 2. I have to say, I could not be more pleased with this board. Just to let everyone know, I ride mostly on groomers and east coast ice so I cannot speak for this board's pow performance. My first run I wanted to see what this board can do, so I railed into as many carves as I could. This board cut through hard pack like it was nothing! What really shocked me is when I came across a patch of straight ice like something you would see on a rink. Once again, this board sliced straight through, no skidding, no sliding, no washout. My old rocker board would have put me straight on my face. The PT2 is wicked fast on carves and straight-lining it is super fun. After about 3 days of riding so far, not a scratch has ended up on this board, especially in the conditions I ride in. Factory wax has help up strong might need to wax it after one more day. The PT2 has amazing pop and ollie power, tons of butterability, and is pretty good on boxes. This board is awesome for switch too! I actually was able to teach it to myself in about 4-5 hours of riding. The asymmetrical sidecut is nice to, it's super easy to lay way back into a heel carve. In addition to learning switch, I have also been able to progress to 180s and more advanced butter tricks. Not sure if it was the board or tutorial videos, but I'm sure this board made it super easy for me to do. If you love to charge down groomers while still being able to throw some tricks around the mountain, this is the board for you! It is playful yet aggressive when you need it to be. This can most definitely perform above and beyond in all conditions. This is just simply an amazing board!


Almost Perfect All Mountain Board

Jan 13, 2017 by TheBrambster
Ability Level: Advanced Intermediate • 
Riding Style: Bombing w/some freestyle & jumps • 
Days You Ride A Year: 30-40 • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 5'11 180lbs 11.5 boot, 157 board 

This board has the strongest and fastest base that I have seen, it's dampening is unmatched, and the topsheet is very tough and good looking. Most importantly, it's edge hold on Northeast ice is in a league of it's own. I can't stress that enough. It just digs in, and I've ridden plenty of boards on ice.

The board feels a bit stiff at first, but after 10 days it's definitely buttering and ollieing easier, and I'm pretty weak in that department. My feet are rated a little big for a non-wide board, but that's BS, I never drag and regular width boards are more responsive from edge to edge with a little extra toe overhang.

I've been bombing a lot on the very hard conditions this year and had this board over 50 mph. It's stiff enough to handle that, but not too stiff to be a little playful. Small rocks that scratch up my buddy's board don't leave marks in this one. When my buddy is slipping out on skied out conditions with his Burton Process, I'm barely slipping, and it's not about having sharp edges. It can carve impressively too. Keep in mind that the blunted nose and tail makes the length meaningless, it's all about effective edge, so this rides larger. I've compared rough and chundery conditions with other boards, and their CRC profile works like shock absorbers under your feet. Noticeably smoother ride.

I do feel the asym sidecut and it takes a few days to lighten up on your heel carves coming from a standard board. I'm not sure it really matters, but it's hardly noticeable at first and unnoticeable after a few days.

If I could tweak this board, I would probably ditch the asym sidecut, and increase the sidecut radius a bit. The faster you go, the bigger your carves, and this is a little tight, but most are. I also would have preferred the regular base graphic as this one is so 80's.


Board to do it all

Jan 09, 2017 by Matt
Ability Level: Expert • 
Riding Style: All mtn freestyle • 
Days You Ride A Year: 50 • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 150lbs 1m70 size 10 boots 

Board to do it all.
My regular laps include:
25% of laps fast carving
25% laps freestyle on natural hits
50% of the day in the park... This board is a killer... Jumps 10/10, Jibs 8/10 locks well on rails!


This board is made of magic

Feb 22, 2016 by Max
Ability Level: Intermediate-advanced • 
Riding Style: All mountain freestyle • 
Days You Ride A Year: 60 • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 5'8", 165lbs, size 9 Nitro 

Ok so this is my first real review so be kind. lol Got my 154cm Type2 out today. This will be the point of view of somebody who has been riding RCR boards for the last 70 days I've ridden. Last 30 have been on a 2016 YES Greats.

Day 1

Conditions

-10C/15km/hr winds. No new snow today, but the last two days had LOTS of snow. So everything was groomed but VERY soft still. Perfect day for digging trenches.

Rider ability

2.5 seasons riding. 60+ times per season. Strong intermediate. I like going fast, riding switch, small 180's and 360's off natural features, always searching for powder, and zero park.

Initial impression

This board gets on edge FAST and stays on edge. Granted it was very soft groomers, I was digging 2-3" trenches at low speed. Even coming off a chair I pressured the toe edge slightly and almost felt over because it dug in the snow way more than I expected. I did find some wind scoured patches and the edge held very good on that too. I feel like I could feel the 0 degree base bevel compared to the 1 degree yes and burton bevels that I'm used to. Very stable at slow and fast speeds which I'll touch on later.

Flat basing

If you search my post history you'll find that this is an area that I was always concerned about with rocker boards. 2 seasons ago I rode Libtec CRC's and always felt uneasy on harder surfaces and cat tracks while flat basing. Even one day this year I tried out a TRS and felt the same way after being accustomed to RCR boards. This was NOT the case with the NS Type 2. I could flat base everything. slow cat tracks, hard pack, steeper blue runs going 45mph. I watched a "boardinsiders" youtube review on the Funslinger where the reviewer couldn't believe how will that board flat based. I felt the same about the Type 2. I was Shocked! Again I feel like the board rode a bit wider and more planted because of the 0 degree base bevel.

Edges

I felt that these edges held on anything. Very impressed. Might be the 0 degree base bevel.

Jumps.

Usually on my RCR boards, I always make sure I'm landing straight with my board pointing in the dirrection I'm going. To avoid catching an edge if I'm off a bit. The few jumps I took this morning, I felt like I could just take a jump and it didn't matter if I'm not perfectly straight on the landing. Spins were very easy too, and just stop my rotation I just needed to dig an edge in very slightly and I'm good.

Powder

No real powder today but everybody else that has ridden this board says it floats great for a Twin.

Moguls.

Outstanding. This board is like a surgeons scalpel on this stuff.

Speed.

Factory wax didn't impress me. But factory wax never does. I felt very confident and found that heel edge chatter was completely gone compared to my YES greats where it came up sometimes. This must be due to the contact points being further out. I liked this a lot. This made is feel more stable than any RCR board i've been on. Again I was shocked here. I wasn't trying to hit a top speed today. But I did take a quick part of a run and hit 46mph and it was easier. I tried to take it to a spot where I hit 54mph on my greats before but the chair line was too long and I was late getting to work.

Final thoughts.

I'll give it a few more days to really get to the know board. But after a half day that I got on it today. I'm sold. Like Matty B said about his Funslinger. I felt like this board could do everything that my greats could but better. The greats was my favorite board of the 15 or so boards I've owned in 2.5 seasons. But I think this one may beat it out.

I want to ride it in really hard conditions to see if it brings out the squirrelly CRC. But even today on some really hard stuff it didn't' feel any worse than my greats on hard pack.

BADASS board. Best first day on a new board that I've ever had. By a mile. Buy this board.

Day 2.

Got it out again today. Got a really full day in and conditions were great.

Everything stands in my previous review but I will add that it floats Really well and felt great on REALLY icy/bumpy terain.

Also got to get some butters in and it felt great there too!

And it busts through end of day resort bumps better than the greats too

My greats is now for sale.

Day 3

3rd day on the board. Condition were HARD. No new snow in days and it's been warm so the hill went through some freeze/thaw.

I have never felt so comfortable on a board in these conditions. I usually just goof around on these days, but on this board I felt that I could bomb the hill and not worry about anything.

And Flat basing on this board in super hard conditions was amazing aswell.


All mountain fun

Feb 15, 2016 by Warren
Ability Level: Advanced intermediate • 
Riding Style: All mountain, carving, trees, playing on sides, powder, free riding. • 
Days You Ride A Year: 24 • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 6' 190lbs, 11UK Burton reduced. 

Took this board along with my lib tech travis rice HP 161 to compare for a week in Couchevel France. Spent first day on Lib, then next day on NS then back on Lib. After doing comparison, spent rest of week on the NS type two. What a board I loved it. Bear in mind the Type Two is a 157, and the lib is 161, so this will account for some of the differences I felt. However this board just turns on a dime, fast edge to edge, was playful and floaty in the powder. But most of all it made me more confident at speed as I knew I could turn and control the board without it washing out. Actually it is much more grippy and better at carving than my Lib. The Lib felt like a cadalac while this was more like a sports car, but this may be partly down to the size difference. Unlike my lib it was nimble through trees. This board definitely improved my riding, very confidence inspiring. I have also been trying to improve my switch and compared to the Lib it was definitely much easier control. I love this board?


5.0 5.0 8 8 So I spent several months researching what board to buy. Originally, I had ruled the NS Proto Type 2 out solely based on the graphic (1st mistake). I then decided to go with anot Never Summer Proto Type Two 2016-2019 Snowboard Review

If you can't buy through the links above, you can support the site with: