Price US $599

Rossignol XV Magtek 2014-2017 Snowboard Review

Rossignol XV Magtek 2017 - 2014 Review by The Good Ride

Past Reviews

The Rossignol XV Magtek is a great tapered super tight turning freeride snowboard for those that often see hard conditions but also live for powder. The Rossignol XV Magtek is a shit load of fun and all of us that have tried it love it. It’s hard to believe that a board made for Xavier would be so good for the average Freerider like us as well.

2015-2017 Rossignol XV Magtek Snowboard Review

Size: 167 and 163
Days:  7+
Conditions: Really good Spring conditions with a little slush in the late afternoon and sometimes a bit hard in the morning. Some loose light rockies snow pushed around exposing really hard snow and some perfectly soft but slightly tracked sierra snow.  At the top there was some patches of light (for the sierras) wind blown snow that was about 6″ deep that felt like a powder day.
Riders: James, Peter, Kyle, Jimbo, Eli
Boots: Burton IonBurton SLXBurton ImperialNike Kaiju,
Bindings: Burton CartelFlux DM Flux SF, Union FactoryUnion Force,
Set Up: Set back a good bit, 18 front 0 back about 23″ wide both times.

Approx Weight: 6.6lbs

On Snow Feel:  The Rossignol XV Magtek snowboard is a very unique board because you just don’t see magnetraction on a tapered freeride snowboard much these days. This is a snappy quick aggressive but forgiving freeride board. It’s a hard snow groomer board as well as a solid powder board. The Rossignol XV Magtek is a stable between the feet in any kind of condition which makes the ride consistent and predictable. It’s also the kind of board that rides a lot smaller than it’s size so don’t’ be intimidated. The 167 I rode felt almost the same as a 156 One Magtek.  Ok I’m exaggerating a bit but not as much as you would think. Let’s just say it rides small and quick for it’s size. As you size down the waist width doesn’t get shorter but it does turn faster.

Powder: There is more than an inch or a 3cm set back.  Combine that with a taper and the ample rocker in the nose you have a lot of easy float going on. We didn’t really have a real powder day but we did have some Sierra Fluff wind loaded into about 6″ of powder like and a bit of wet to slushy Spring snow. There is a little bit of over grip but it’s much better than the old magnetraction boards and it’s only really felt right between the feet.  It doesn’t really grab as much as I initially thought when we first rode it last year.  It’s also great for those that have a lot of wind blown steep icy entry points before getting to the powder stashes.  You only feel a little bit of a grab in thick snow but not enough to be an issue.  It doesn’t effect the way it floats though.  In light fluffy powder you might see in places like the Rockies and Utah you wouldn’t even notice. Despite the larger sizing the XV is quick so if you know how to turn you will find this really quick between the trees.

Turn Initiation: The Rossignol XV Magtek turns really quick edge to edge and the board turns much quicker than it’s size so don’t get hung up on sizing down because these run on the larger side.  It’s not terrible skidding your turns either.  It’s still more a snowboard for those that live to make good quick turns. There is a nice spring out of the turn and it’s really fun to roll over from edge to edge. You can see why Xavier likes this board because that guy puts him self into some scary steep places and If I was doing what he was doing….well….I’d be dead but I’d be in control more than any other board before I die. The Rossignol XV Magtek is the kind of snowboard that can zip in and out of trees or turn when it’s critical in narrow steep terrain.

Carving: The real kicker with the Rossignol XV is the carve.  It’s a very unique very tight shorter radius carve. If you lay into it pretty hard it takes you back to surfing. I thought I was back in the 90’s when I use to surf all the time and I was on my 7.0 gun making a hard bottom turn into a double over head almond eye barrel.  It did worry me a bit because the turning radius is so tight that Jimbo crashed into me once and almost crashed into me a few more times when he was filming me. It’s really easy to turn back up hill or make a full circle carve.  So before you lay into a hard carve make sure there is no one behind you because most people aren’t use to what a small circle you can make with such a big board. There is some taper going on and it can make the board a little washy if you don’t get a lot of weight onto the back foot after you initiate the turn.  The MTX really helps grab a lot better than most tapered boards but you can still feel the tail act a little different than the nose.

Speed: It’s very very fast and stable. The Rossignol XV Magtek is fine for a straight line and it’s faster than most boards out there. The Rossignol Krypto actually felt a little more stable but we are splitting hairs on various shades of excellent.

Uneven Terrain:  We didn’t really see the kind of bumpy terrain because both days we rode this were flat but it seems like it would hold up well through a mogul field on the way to a powder stash.  The Rossignol XV Magtek will also do really well for it’s flex in harder uneven off piste snow.

Edge Hold: In 2015 Rossignol changed up some of their boards MTX with a less aggressive but still very effective MTX.  From what I can tell the XV still has the older MTXIf you like tapered surfy freeride snowboards but often see harder conditions then the Rossignol XV Magtek is your snowboard. It’s got great to excellent grip on really hard to icy snow but it also doesn’t grab to hard in thicker powder.  It’s not going to be a double ender carve hard off your front foot kind of board in harder snow and the tapered tail can wash out in harder patches if you do so.  It’s more the kind of board that you want to have more of a centered to set back surfy carve with a lot of pressure on the back foot. With that said it holds better than almost any other board with this much taper that I have ridden.

Flex: It’s medium/stiff and lively. The tail is softer than the nose so it wheelies pretty well and its easy to snap an ollie off the tail.

All in all the Rossignol XV Magtek is a really different fun snowboard that can make a lot of riders really happy.




Past Reviews

 

2014 Rossignol XV 


 

Read the whole review

User Reviews of the Rossignol XV Magtek

Submit your product review.


Submit your review
* Required Field

Rossignol XV Magtek 2014-2017 Snowboard Review SKU UPC Model

Love It!

Apr 04, 2016 by John Ellison
Ability Level: Advanced • 
Riding Style: All MT/ Freeride • 
Days You Ride A Year: 50+ • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 5"7", 175, 9.5 

I have been boarding about 25 years now, Skiing 48. I get up 80-100 days a year boarding 2/3 of the time. Got to demo some new boards a while back after a local shop messed up my Burton Super Model. I quickly realized that it was time for an upgrade, the new boards were so much easier to ride. I was not able to demo this board as it was not available. I picked it from the reviews here and they are all spot on. As a directional free ride guy this is the perfect board for me. It is quick, fast, stable, playful and forgiving. It has excelled in every condition, the only thing I have yet to get it in is deep light mid winter powder but I could ride a trash can lid in that and have a blast so I am no to worried. The tapered shape worked and floated well in overly soft corn mush so it should in pow too. If your at least an intermediate rider, like a directional all MT free ride board you will be very happy with the XV, I sure am!


This Board is pure energie and fun

Mar 06, 2016 by Veit

In the end i decided to got with the Union Atlas in red and the Rossi XV. Last weekend i had the first chance to try my new set up. What can i say... its fucking amazing. The Rossi rides like hell in every terrain. The responsive in combination with the atlas is truly amazing. The Lasso boots fits perfectly to the size of the board. The heel and the toes have max. 1 inch overlap. That's great. We some icy conditions this weekend.. the Rossi didn't care though. It just cuts the ice. I had no troubles at all. Sadly we had not any powder. Im really looking forward to ride powder with the set up. What else... yeah.. the Rossi is as fast as everybody was writing in the internet. I even passed by ski drivers on cat tracks with the Rossi :D
I really wanted to thank u.. for ur help James. If it wasn't for u... i didn't find this set up which really fits to my riding style. Keep on doing with what ur doing. U r doing a great job!!!
Thx a lot and best regards


Best board ever (and I've ridden so many)

Jan 13, 2016 by Justin
Ability Level: Advanced • 
Riding Style: Very, very aggressive • 
Days You Ride A Year: 25+ • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 6'2", 195, boot = 12 

I grew-up skiing and took up snowboarding in grad school. As such, I am a very aggressive boarder who loves to spend the day in the moguls or deep shoots. If you look across the ski area as to where the boarders are not, that is where I am.

As such, I was really worried replacing my old board (insanely stiff, full camber). Further, I had a set-up that despite my size 12 feet, I could still ride a regular board (hate wide boards as too slow edge to edge).

However, thanks to your reviews and the insights of this site, I bought the 164W and was simply blown away. I can't believe all boards are not built to this spec - large stiff nose, crazy edge control, narrow taper in the tail to whip around turns.

I could fly through the moguls and found a new love of the steeps thanks to the insane edge control and precision of the flex. It really feels more medium flex than stiff and is wildly responsive to small changes in weight distributions and angles.

This is the greatest board full stop. I live in the northwest so the edge control and ability to blow through and over the crud is priceless.

I honestly can't recommend this board enough.


great what its made for

Aug 03, 2015 by jan
Ability Level: Riding for 20 years..not bad i´d say. • 
Riding Style: Mostly freeride • 
Days You Ride A Year: 60+ • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 193 cm/76 kg/12 

So, after spending a season on this board in my winter home base - La Plagne, French Alps, here is my short review:

I always had a quiver and this is an excellent addition to it. Would say that it is the board as i ride the most, cause most of the days i ride off piste in the resort and sidecountry (and splitboarding when everything is tracked out). It excels in powder and despite its size (i ride the big 174 as i am a tall guy) it turns quite fast and the maneuvrability is great. The nose is almost unsinkable. The mag works fine and no catching. I was afraid of the flex as i don´t like super stiff boards, but this is just perfect for freeriding. Surprisingly you might throw some methods and 180´s and it goes well! And even though the tail is subtle, switch doesn´t feel bad at all.

When there´s no pow, it excels on groomers and if you can, you can carve touching the ground with your hand..super fun. And the bonus is its so stable that you can just point it and straight line if you want. Not bad at trees as well, but i prefer my old Malolo for that as its shorter.

I think the board is excellent for us who ride in the Alps as we have quite a changable conditions and it can hold everything from pow to crud. But i love it on big mountain faces and couloirs the most.

The board is super fun, great shape, cool design...Xav knows what he´s doing. The only think why i am rating 4 stars is for a few reasons. First, the metal part on my swallowtail broke after a season and i haven´t hit any rock or something. Actually i was expecting that (besides the quality craftmanship this part looket like its not gonna last from the beginning). But Rossi promised to send me a new one, so no problem with that, but it should´t happen. Than the inserts are not too wide apart so i have to play with my binding to set the preffered stance width. That is an issue for us tall guys only, but they could widen the inserts on the bigger sizes of the board. And it is made in China - well, sure, most boards are nowadays, bud i´d prefer to pay a bit more if it would be made with people who knows what they´re doing, ideally boarders...and keep the production in Europe/US..

But a great board overall. It can put smile on your face on groomer days and a even a bigger smile when there is pow!

Jan

P.S. Sorry for my english, i am Czech (residing in French Alps in winter)


SUPER FUN

Feb 19, 2015 by JB
Ability Level: Seasoned veteran • 
Riding Style: Hunchback albatros • 
Days You Ride A Year: Never enough 

Lemme tell you right off the bat that this board is awesome. The Good Ride got it right. It's fast and stable. It carves like crazy. Yes the Mag works. No it isn't catchy. Yes it floats great in pow. Yes the nose is stiff. Yes you can pop a plenty off the tail. The one thing that i might disagree on with the review is the overall stiffness: I didn't think it was a particularly stiff board. Maybe an 8 out of a 10. It's stable like a stiff board but you can really manipulate it if you want or need to. I've ridden plenty of fully cambered Super Models over the years and I would say this board is like those, but dare I say....better? Perhaps.
On a side note, I picked up the XV bindings as well and they worked just fine. Super easy to adjust. Plenty stiff. I'm coming from some CO2's.
Overall I'm really happy with the Rossi. If you are looking for a pretty much cambered, tapered free ride board with some mellow rocker, this is a great choice.


Excellent for no nonsense, no switch riders.

Jan 26, 2015 by Mark
Ability Level: Intermediate • 
Riding Style: On and off piste • 
Days You Ride A Year: 10 

I'd like to qualify what I've written below by saying this is the only freeride board I've ever tried, so keep that in your mind when assessing the value of my opinion.

I've just spent a week on this board with Union Chargers and 32 Prime boots, so a very stiff, responsive setup.

The XV looks a bit odd and just strapped in before you move off it feels like it would be a bit of a donkey to turn, but that impression is totally wrong - it is very nimble at slow and moderate speeds (it's great in moguls) and has a neutral, reassuring manner with no nasty surprises which is something that bodes well for a long-term relationship - you can kind of almost forget about it because you're not waiting for it to spit you off at any moment. That alone is great accomplishment for what is quite a stiff, aggressive board.

Turning at (and stopping from) higher speeds is consistent and precise.

Although it ate up a week of extremely variable conditions without breaking a sweat it only really made me burst out laughing with pure joy twice; once picking my way at high speed through a very crowded slope where I had to make a lot of sudden last second changes of direction and the other time where I hit a load of frozen solid rutted up sh*t at about 50mph and it just shrugged it off with barely a wobble.

This is obviously just my personal bias but I prefer to feel the grip and reaction of the board outside my feet like a good aggressive camber board rather than like the XV which has everything happening between the feet with nothing going on at the ends of the board.

Maybe it's the reverse flex or the aggressive magnetraction but it doesn't really ride like anything else I've tried in the past or that I currently own. Accordingly it's hard for me to say that it's like 'A' 'B' or 'C' that anyone reading this might have ridden.

Consequently I'll have to make a somewhat inadequate comparison to my own small collection of boards: I have whittled my quiver down to a set of very different boards (2013 K2 WWW, 2013 Jones Mountain Twin, 2013 Volkl Coal Race World Cup Edition and now the 2014 XV), and the Rossi is not like any of them, which I suppose makes it a good buy in that respect as it finds its own niche and is not in danger of being sold because it's too similar to something else I've already got.

As a small aside I don't want to disagree with any of the TGR team's conclusions as their reviews have saved me a load of wasted time and money buying inappropriate snowboards, but the XV is comfortably outgunned by the Volkl for aggression, speed, edgehold and carving.The Volkl has no magnetraction or other fancy stuff going on and is just a straight up camber board of the kind Noah had on his ark but it is an absolute fucking beast (I'd love to see TGR review it). So this is not to knock TGR's ratings, but if the XV is rated 'excellent' in those respects, then the Volkl warrants some kind of 'excellent plus' a rating ('bonkers' or 'unreal' would be appropriate).

It's also outgunned by the (similarly hybrid but very different feeling) Jones for switch riding and any freestyle stuff you can do naturally whilst riding around the mountain. And I think the Jones is nearly it's equal in powder, albeit again with a very different, more undulating feel compared to the XV just bulling it's way over the top with it's big nose.

In conclusion - I prefer the feel of the Volkl for going fast and making turns on groomers (icy or otherwise) and there's no doubt the Jones is more lively and fun at those lower speeds where the XV is not breaking a sweat. However of course I can't afford a lacky to carry my boards around behind me so I can swap them as my mood or the conditions change, so I'd have to make a choice and the XV combines a lot of the good characteristics of those 2 excellent boards and adds a dash of it's own style as well. So whilst I'm not that moved by the 'surfy' feel TGR raved about (I've never surfed and generally associate water with either drinking or drowning) the other aspects of the board come together well and gel into a a very satisfying whole and it's a board that I can grow into and push myself on because I can trust it's personality not to fuck me over at some random moment.

I was tempted to mark it down 1 star to 4 because the build quality was not great (the hole in the nose was completely on the piss and there were a few flaws in the finish) but mine might have been a Friday afternoon job so I will reserve judgement, but it's something to look out for if you buy one.


Rossignol XV Magtek 167

Jan 20, 2015 by Jason
Ability Level: Expert • 
Riding Style: Everything • 
Days You Ride A Year: 25+ 

Just picked up a 2015 167 XV because my 161 Never Summer SL (awesome deck) lacked the stability, speed, and edge hold that I craved on those "I just wanna haul ass" days. This winter has been less than ideal here in New England, so we've had even more than the usual ice and snowment to deal with.

In short: Holy Shit. This deck kills. Everything that people have raved about is true. The reviewer that compared it to a Formula 1 car nailed it. It's ridiculously fast and the edge hold is unreal. I was apprehensive about the 167 length, but as stated in TGR reviews: it doesn't feel like a 167 edge to edge and when you need to maneuver in tight spots. I took it down an icy chute with lots of rocks and drops. No problem. I raced with my bro that's an excellent skier and the XV was faster and had better edge hold than his Rossi all mountain planks. Looking forward to trying it in some powder....assuming we get any.


Magtek xv

Dec 31, 2014 by Jd
Ability Level: Advanced to expert • 
Riding Style: Free ride carving chutes and drops • 
Days You Ride A Year: 25+ 

I've been riding for 20+ seasons. Have ridden numerous boards over the years. Cuts, sizes, camber, etc. I'd always preferred the solid feel of my trusty ride timeless. However I can officially retire all of my other boards as this is a quiver killer. It cuts like a knife, jut slices up icy terrain, holds an edge on steeps, floats fun on the sugary east coast man made snow, and is an absolute rocket. It doesn't seem to catch an edge on the flats, and just wants to carve hard and run fast. This is the most fun I've EVER had on a board and the conditions were awful. I can't wait to use it in perfect conditions.


Excellent Big Mountain board

Aug 16, 2014 by ET
Ability Level: Expert • 
Riding Style: Freeride • 
Days You Ride A Year: 25 

Riding 167M with Ride boots 10.5 (Ride boots are more compact that's true).

The Magnetraction is fantastic on ice, doesn't grab in powder.

Board isn't that stiff even if Rossignol are rating it 10

Everything The Good Ride said about this board is true.


Fast, reliable edge hold

Apr 10, 2014 by Larry
Ability Level: Intermediate • 
Riding Style: Freeride / back country • 
Days You Ride A Year: 30 + 

Definitely a quiver keeper.

It rides like a Formula 1 race car; super fast on the straights, bites in and makes super tight turns.

This board is all about business. If you want to do some in-your-face aggressive riding it is up for the task.

Float in pow is good, although not as surfy fun or big carvey turns as others such as the Flagship. -But the Flagship doesn't have near the edge hold security as the XV.

If conditions are unknown this is a good default board to grab because it is fun to ride and you can rely on it to handle the nasty or what ever you find.

If it's known wind blown or icy areas in your path, without a doubt this is the go-to stick.

When it comes to needing edge hold and bite it hasn't let me down.


4.8 5.0 11 11 I have been boarding about 25 years now, Skiing 48. I get up 80-100 days a year boarding 2/3 of the time. Got to demo some new boards a while back after a local shop messed up my B Rossignol XV Magtek 2014-2017 Snowboard Review
Page:
12

Riding Style

Freeride

Riding Level

Advanced - Expert

Available Widths

Regular, Mid/Wide

Manufactured in

Taiwan or China

Shape

Tapered Directional

Camber Profile

Hybrid Camber

Stance

Setback over 20mm

Approx. Weight

Feels Normal

On Snow Feel

Stable

Turn Initiation

Medium/Fast

Flex

Medium/Stiff

Edge Hold

Icy Snow

Powder

Excellent

Carving

Great

Speed

Great

Uneven Terrain

Good

Switch

Average

Jumps

Average

Jibbing

Poor

Pipe

Average