Price US $359

Rome Tour Review And Buying Advice

Rome Tour 2016 - 2013 Review by The Good Ride

The Rome Tour is a solid choice for beginners and intermediates that are sure they want to explore the park but also want time on the mountain too. It’s got a twin flex and shape but a set back stance which is great for learning to ride powder. So I’d say it’s a freestyle board that can act like a skate board most of the time but when it dumps it can act like a surf board.

Size 156

Days: 10+
Conditions: Moderate Powder (1ft) to snowment that was borderline icy.
Riders: James and Dave (Dave owns this)
Boots: Burton SLX, Burton Ion and Burton Imperial
Bindings: Now IPO, Burton Cartel, Rome Mob
Set Up- Centered 22 inches wide 15 front -15 back. Set Back 22 Wide 15 front -6 back.  Centered 23 inches wide 15 front -15 back.

The Rome Crail was a very good board.  It was light, snappy and a fun board for intermediate to expert all mountain riders at a reasonable price.  The one thing it really wasn’t was a good beginner to intermediate board for this time.  This is why we are glad that Rome dropped this and introduced the flat to sort of rocker Tour to their line.  It’s no longer the advanced to expert ride that the Crail was but it’s an excellent beginner/intermediate ride for a wide variety of riding styles. It’s also a decent board for advanced riders.

On Snow Feel– The flat between the bindings that then leads to a point at the tip/tail and additional edge hold between the feet makes it a semi-stable catch free ride for flat groomers and one footing off the chair. Many flat to rocker boards are more stable than the Rome Tour because it starts to lift the sides after the bindings and then the lifted area increases all the way to the tip/tail.  As a result it makes it more loose and it feels less like a flat to rocker board and a little more like a continuous rocker board underfoot.  The 2016 Rome Tour has the lifted sides start earlier/closer to the bindings than older models making it even more loose than before. Conversely it’s less catchy than before and very easy to skid a turn or spin out without crashing.   It’s a versatile ride for those that want to try everything from Jibs to jumps, to pipe to mountain riding.

Powder: In powder the Tour has a little less float than the K2 Raygun which makes it a decent powder board. That means its unique flat to rocker profile combined with a setback stance will be pretty for directional powder riding.

Turn Initiation– The Tour is easy to turn without being twitchy or too easy. It can handle short radius turns very well and it’s pretty fun with wider radius turns.

Carving– When you get into carving it’s flat profile going to lifted sides lacks something that many boards with some camber have that offer up a good spring out of the turn. Also the lifted sides give you a feeling like you have more flat under foot but when you lay into the turn it wants to wash out.

Speed: This isn’t going to melt the snow but it can handle moderate speeds and doesn’t throw up a lot of chatter.

Uneven Terrain:  It’s very forgiving in all kinds of terrain and offers pretty good shock absorption when riding in less than ideal conditions.

Approximate Weight- It’s a pretty light board and easy on the feet when riding the chair.

Edge Hold: Even though the nose/tail are turned up at the sides and there is a flat to rocker profile the quick rip side cut makes for edge hold that can handle all but truly icy conditions very well.  From snowment to powder you will always feel secure and this is the kind of edge hold that makes for a good all conditions ride.  It’s better than many camber boards out there that are much stiffer.

Flex: This flex is on the soft side of medium in between the feet. On the tip/tail it seems softer, easy to butter, press and very forgiving.  It’s one of those boards that doesn’t offer much resistance any way you want to flex it.

Switch: The Tour has a true twin flex so you can center it up on groomer days and ride switch just like you would with a true twin.  The only thing keeping the Tour from being perfect is the stance width options are a little limited for centering it up to ride switch. If you can center it right with your stance it’s excellent.

Jibbing– The soft true twin flex makes for a pretty decent jib park ride and allows someone a little bit of a confidence boost with it’s forgiving tip/tail.

Pipe: It’s got the edge hold to ride the pipe in all conditions but it’s just not a dedicated pipe board.  Great for learning though.

Jumps:  It’s not a really poppy board when it comes to a carve but there is a nice snappy return when you want to ollie.  It has a nice stable approach to kickers that helps one build up a little confidence when launching.  It’s also pretty forgiving and catch free when it’s time to land too.

This type of design covers a wide range of riding styles and is about as close as you can get to an all mountain ride for most curious beginners and intermediate riders. All in all the Rome Tour is a good board for those with a lot of park curiosity but still want a board that can offer a good directional surfy ride in powder.

Read the whole review

User Reviews of the Rome Tour

Submit your product review.


Submit your review
* Required Field

Rome Tour Review And Buying Advice SKU UPC Model

A bit of a letdown

Jan 05, 2016 by John L
Ability Level: Advanced Beginner • 
Riding Style: Groomers only for now • 
Days You Ride A Year: 6 in 2015, hopefully 10+ in 2016 • 
Height, Weight And Boot Size (for Boards, Boots & Bindings): 5'9", 160 lbs. 8.5 boots 

I tried snowboarding in March 2015 and fell in love, so much so that I bought all my own equipment this past summer: 2016 Rome Tour 156, Flux DS, Burton Moto

My rental board for my first experience was a 2011 Rossignol Trickstick, with Head bindings and boots. The bindings were soft and the boots didn't even fit, but I loved snowboarding anyway. I visited Steamboat in December 2015 with my all-new setup. At first I was not comfortable on the board, it felt too catchy, so I went into the shop at Steamboat, and they filed down the edges near the nose and tail. This definitely helped, but I continued to notice that the board wasn't quite as stable at lower speeds and on narrow, gentle runs as the Trickstick. The guys at the shop said it was probably due to the flat profile on the Tour vs. the camber of the Trickstick. Despite the latter being apparently more difficult to learn, I felt like I was a better rider on it. Perhaps I just need more time to get accustomed to brand new everything: bindings, boots and a board.

I attempted my first blue runs ever at Steamboat and once I got over the initial fear, the Tour performed well, I just feel like it's not as easy to maintain one direction as the Trickstick. With this board I feel like I constantly need to turn for it to feel stable. In other words, I can't just put the board on the heel edge with slight pressure and ride in a straight line - it feels very unstable doing that. I suppose it wants to be skidded more than it wants to turn, and perhaps that's why it's hard for this board to go in a straight line. Granted I am not an expert, but by my 3rd day ever on a snowboard, I could link my turns on that Trickstick and felt very stable on narrow green runs where I needed to maintain one direction for a while. Not so on the Tour.

I'm going to keep the Tour for a bit longer and give it more evaluation, but I'm not as happy with it as I thought I was going to be. James mentioned that the 2016 model has its sides turned up even more than before, and I made the choice for this board based on information about the 2015 and prior models, so it's my fault for going with the 2016. : )


it's just a great board

Feb 16, 2014 by Dani
Ability Level: Beginner - intermidiate • 
Riding Style: Monkey style • 
Days You Ride A Year: 7 days, not enough 

I bought this board after reading reviews and TGR review, and especially after the personal advice of James Biesty., well...this is the email thank you I wrote him:
Hi James,
.....Your advice of buying the Rome Tour 156 was excellent!!! It is an amazing board with so much playfulness,
Although it's only my second week of snowboarding I was able to easily do the Olie, succeeded to do 180 diagonal jumps (on the ground of course, with minimal crashes!), butter 360(and 720 and etc. :))and it's a very forgiving and playful board.
...You've been so helpful. Thanks you!...


it's just a great board

Feb 16, 2014 by Dani
Ability Level: Beginner - intermidiate • 
Riding Style: Monkey style • 
Days You Ride A Year: 7, not enough 

I bought this board after reading reviews and TGR review, and especially after the personal advice of James Biesty., well...this is the email thank you I wrote him:
Hi James,
.....Your advice of buying the Rome Tour 156 was excellent!!! It is an amazing board with so much playfulness,
Although it's only my second week of snowboarding I was able to easily do the Olie, succeeded to do 180 diagonal jumps (on the ground of course, with minimal crashes!), butter 360(and 720 and etc. :))and it's a very forgiving and playful board.
...You've been so helpful. Thanks you!...


Great little board

Feb 01, 2014 by Tim
Ability Level: Intermediate - advanced • 
Riding Style: Mountain, not park • 
Days You Ride A Year: 20-30 

This is a great little board! I’ve been boarding for 15 years and am in my mid-60’s, ride the mountain but not the park, wanted a light, stable, easy-turning and forgiving board with great edge grip for hard and bumpy conditions. I have US size 10.5 feet and usually ride 159-161cm boards, but this board is wide enough for me to ride a regular width 156cm with no problems. Bought a 2013 model on sale this summer, have only ridden it a few times because this has been the worst season ever around here, but I am totally happy with it. Great edge grip, very agile and forgiving in crappy conditions, light on the aging knees when riding the chairlift, stable one-footing or coming off the chairlift, holds a line really well at higher speeds and goes as fast as I want when well waxed. The tough extruded base has been a bonus this season, too – easy to repair when scratched. I have a Burton Barracuda 161 for powder days (great board for that, but not for hard conditions), so I may never find out how well the Tour does in powder, but I’m thinking of selling my Salomon Answer 159 and making the Tour my go-to board for everything but powder days.


Final Veredict

Jun 11, 2013 by bichito
Ability Level: Lost in the white room • 
Riding Style: Park un-friendly • 
Days You Ride A Year: Not enough 

After a solid stretch of weeks using this board, I have to say that I enjoyed the ride. I ended up the season doing mostly black/blue comboes.

It worked so well for me that I am looking for an stiffer board for next season :-}


Update

Apr 24, 2013 by bichito
Ability Level: Getting there • 
Riding Style: Farther from the park • 
Days You Ride A Year: ? 

I finally rode it on a significant powder day (a foot or so):

Moved the bindings all the way back but sill had to pull that nose up a lot of the time.

Not a full-time powder board.

But it lots of fun.


Mar 22, 2013 by bichito
Ability Level: ? • 
Riding Style: Not in the park • 
Days You Ride A Year: ? 

Take my review with a grain of salt. This is my first snowboard.

I have some experience surfing: travelled, every now and then a videographer gets distracted with me or people talk about my rides. That said:

I think the review is spot on. We got like 6-8 inches as the day progressed. It carves great, the ratio of speed to ease-of turn may be too high.

It floated over the fresh powder, it cut the powder.

The edge hold is great, it allows for sharp turns/carves at speed.

Maybe a little stiffer as an improvement?

But overall I totally forgot about the waves and rode the snow until my legs were wobbly.


4.6 5.0 7 7 I tried snowboarding in March 2015 and fell in love, so much so that I bought all my own equipment this past summer: 2016 Rome Tour 156, Flux DS, Burton Moto My rental board f Rome Tour Review And Buying Advice

Riding Style

All Mountain

Riding Level

Beginner - Advanced

Available Widths

Regular, Mid/Wide, Wide

Manufactured in

SWS in Dubai

Shape

Directional Twin

Camber Profile

Flat to Rocker

Stance

Setback -20mm

Approx. Weight

Feels Normal

On Snow Feel

Semi-Stable

Turn Initiation

Medium/Fast

Flex

Medium/Soft

Edge Hold

Hard Snow

Powder

Great

Carving

Average

Speed

Average

Uneven Terrain

Great

Switch

Great

Jumps

Good

Jibbing

Good

Pipe

Good